The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

I love the trailer for this book. I don’t remember the book being so steamy though.

Image

And I can’t wait for the next one to come out.

Image

I’ve been thinking about this book recently because not only do I love it, but it inspired my most recent novel, which I just re-read for the first time in 9 months. Current plan will reflect my writing process: one play through of ‘The Cults’ will equal one editing session much as it did one writing session back in November when I wrote the first draft. 

4 thoughts on “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

  1. Melissa Giorgio

    I said this when you were writing it and sharing snippets and I’ll say it again–I can’t wait to read this novel! Good luck with the editing; that’s always the hardest part for me. I’m getting better, but I still enjoy creating a lot more than revising!

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      Hopefully it wont take me more than 2-3 months before it’s ready for a beta-read (if you’re up for it XD) if I actually keep with my editing plan. But I’m still in shock (and a bit awed at myself) that I was able to not only finish the damn thing (when I wrote it for NaNo) but that it’s actually GOOD (I expected to laugh my ass off at how horrible it was when I re-read it and instead I couldn’t leave the stupid computer… totally didn’t feel like I was reading my own work at all). And I somehow even set it up for a sequel which I didn’t mean to at all.

      I know what you mean… I still want to be working on my Juliet story, esp now that I figured out the POV, but that will just have to wait until I really have the time to give it.

      Reply
      1. Melissa Giorgio

        I’ll definitely beta read it! I’ve been looking forward to reading this one for awhile. And I know, isn’t it a great feeling when you go back and discover it’s not as bad as you think? I always do that to myself! “Oh this is going to be crap–wait, this part is really good, let me keep reading…” and suddenly you’re sucked in for a couple of hours.

Leave a Reply

