japaniversary

Image

This is one of the first photos I took in Tokyo on the first day I was in Japan. Five years ago today.

Eleven years ago I watched the Twin Towers fall, live on Good Morning America in my first hour Senior Government class. The rest of the day was spent watching TV and listening to announcements on the loudspeaker. The only class that ‘went on’ was band because Mr. L wouldn’t let us NOT practice. I remember sitting in my ’87 Chevy pick up waiting in line for over an hour to buy gas priced at $1.99, fearing that we’d never have gas again after that night. I remember being scared for my friends in New York. Fast forward to 2007, five years ago, and I was standing in a silent airport with my family as I got on my first airplane to Japan. That’s what I remember about 9/11.

I wrote that on my facebook today. Eleven years ago I would have never imagined my life would have turned out like this.

Small town Michigan to Tokyo to Saitama to Tokyo to small town Ibaraki.

Crazy.

Leave a Reply

