WWII bomb

Image

A bomb from WWII was found in Hitachi-city, not too far from my workplace. 

http://www3.nhk.or.jp/news/html/20121215/k10014202381000.html

On the 23rd of December the Japanese Self Defense Force is going to come remove it. I was told this is the 4th one that’s been found in the area, and I kinda want to see it. It’s just so interesting that something so old and dangerous has just been hanging out in the ground for so long. And it made it through the March 11th earthquake without a problem. 

I’ll be in Hitachi on the 23rd, but my workplace it outside of the 500 meter radius that needs to be evacuated (the image above is the map, the circle indicating the evacuation area), and I’m not too worried, but I wish the JSDF good luck at safely removing it.

Leave a Reply

