Surprise!

Image

This sweater was not a surprise. My mother actually gave me a book with patterns in it and told me to choose a sweater. This happened the last time I was in the USA… back in August 2012.

Now I have received this gorgeous, hand-and-love made sweater on the day after I purchased tickets to go to the USA in May of this year. I am so excited that I danced with the mamegomas. On the bed. I think K was actually afraid.

This trip was made possible because K got yet another paper accepted for yet another international conference. That makes this number 3 in the past 8 months. He’s basically on fire. One of the conferences is here in Japan, so unfortunately that doesn’t involve travel, but the one in May is being held in Saint Paul, Minnesota. Which is just a short ONE HOUR flight from my hometown over in Michigan.

So one (incredibly cheap) multi-city flight (it’s seriously the most amazing flight, all direct, so I only have to be on a plane THREE times. I only have to land THREE times. The chances of me puking is only THREE times opposed to the four that I’m usually faced with when I have to transfer) and I get to hug my dog for 3 nights. I get to see my ENTIRE family and chase my niece around and eat grilled steak and honey baked ham and soy cheese. I get to visit some friends and K can finally see where I grew up. He can actually meet my father.

Sadly the Michigan portion of our trip is short, but that’s because we have to get over to Minnesota for his presentation. I am excited to spend a little time just the two of us, and we’re staying in the super cute Hotel 340 and while K’s doing his computer science thing I’m going shopping at the freaking Mall of America.

I am beyond excited, this post can’t even being to show how excited I am.

One thought on “Surprise!

  1. Amy McNulty

    Congrats to K! He sounds like one smart cookie. 🙂 Yay for seeing family! And omg, I love the Mall of America. I haven’t been there in years, but we went every year while growing up and I loved it so~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

