UNRAVELING

Image

Title: Unraveling

Author: Elizabeth Norris

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Janelle Tenner is used to having a lot of responsibility. She balances working as a lifeguard in San Diego with an intense academic schedule. Janelle’s mother is bipolar, and her dad is a workaholic FBI agent, which means Janelle also has to look out for her younger brother, Jared.

And that was before she died…and is brought back to life by Ben Michaels, a mysterious, alluring loner from her high school. When she discovers a strange clock that seems to be counting down to the earth’s destruction, Janelle learns she has twenty-four days to figure out how to stop the clock and save the planet.

My review: I read this book in September 2012 and I remember loving it. I did not write a review on goodreads, so I’m a little annoyed with myself for that. But I thought I’d start posting about books that I love on this blog (since I almost never update here) and I thought this book would be a good start. This is the first book in the UNRAVELING series (2nd book; UNBREAKABLE, is out now! Along with a novella called UNDONE… I haven’t read either of those yet, but I’m planning on it soon!).

This book is a lot like a YA version of 24 (the TV show) with a sci-fi twist. Janelle almost dies and is saved by the one guy she would have never imagined crossing paths with. They then find themselves thrown together in an epic countdown to, basically, the end of the world. Janelle’s dad is an FBI agent and Janelle gets herself involved with a case he’s working on… which has a ticking clock that’s counting down to something… big. HUGE.

If you know me, you know I LOVE anything FBI, CIA, spy, gun-toting-badass related. So this was awesome. While Janelle isn’t in the FBI herself, she does get way deep into the case and crosses paths with a lot of agents.

Janelle was smart and funny and faced a lot, and I mean A LOT of heartbreak. I loved the scenes where Janelle had to be strong for herself, her family, and her friends. I love how she tried so hard to be good to everyone and tried so hard to save everyone. And even when she couldn’t and had to face true horrors, she didn’t back down or run away.

The relationship between Janelle and Ben was wonderful too. It didn’t suffer too much from many of the problems that YA romance has. I loved Ben and thought he was a great character.

Some of the sci-fi stuff was a bit wacky, but I generally don’t let paradoxes and unexplainable science bother me too much. It’s fiction, it’s not going to make sense in the terms that we use to define what we use in every day life and science. And what do we really know anyway.

The writing was wonderful as well. Very fast paced, very real, and I loved Janelle’s voice. I remember when I was reading it I got sucked in and there were quite a few heart-pounding moments!

As I said above, I haven’t read the next book yet, but I’m planning on picking it up when I’m in the USA next week (I can’t wait to visit a real bookstore full of ENGLISH books!!!). I do have the novella, but I want to read it right before I dive into Unbreakable, to get me into the mood for it.

If you’re interested in this book, it’s currently on sale for 1.99!!! Check out it out here and pick it up for your Kindle, Kobo, Nook or whatever you use for e-books.

~~

So… should I keep this up?

6 thoughts on “UNRAVELING

    1. river Post author

      I love that we both have like the EXACT same taste in things. Sometimes I’ll read stuff and not even realize that you read it until I give it the same rating as you.

      Reply
  1. Shannonon @ Twilight Sleep

    Yes, you should keep it up! I loved your review – loved that it was detailed/specific, which is something I need to work on. I’m new to the whole book blogging thing too, so it was kind of exciting to find someone else who hasn’t been doing this for years, lol. 😀

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      Thank you so much for saying that. I always feel like my reviews are vague and don’t make sense to anyone but me.

      Yay, nice to know that I’m not the only one knew to this. I used to fashion blog but lost interest so I’m going to try to take a different approach to this and just have fun.

      I’ll make sure to check out your blog too! I’m always looking for new books to read.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

