The Memory of After

Image

Title: The Memory of After (originally LEVEL 2)

Author: Lenore Appelhans

Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: Since her untimely death the day before her eighteenth birthday, Felicia Ward has been trapped in Level 2, a stark white afterlife located between our world and the next. Along with her fellow drones, Felicia passes the endless hours reliving memories of her time on Earth and mourning what she’s lost—family, friends, and Neil, the boy she loved.

Then a girl in a neighboring chamber is found dead, and nobody but Felicia recalls that she existed in the first place. When Julian—a dangerously charming guy Felicia knew in life—comes to offer Felicia a way out, Felicia learns the truth: If she joins the rebellion to overthrow the Morati, the angel guardians of Level 2, she can be with Neil again.

Suspended between Heaven and Earth, Felicia finds herself at the center of an age-old struggle between good and evil. As memories from her life come back to haunt her, and as the Morati hunt her down, Felicia will discover it’s not just her own redemption at stake… but the salvation of all mankind.

Review: I read this book FOR FREE on Pulse It, which is a great website that I just recently discovered. Pulse It hosts free books (for a limited time) and has a lot of information about books. It’s more of a book loving community than anything, where you can ‘heart’ books that you like and read early synopsis and extras. You have to read on your tablet or computer (I have a keyboard style 3G kindle, so I couldn’t read it on there, but I’m not sure about kindle fire…) so I read it on my iPad. I’m not a HUGE fan of reading on my iPad (I prefer my kindle or a physical copy) but it was free… so I thought why not. Anyways… check out Pulse It if you haven’t already!

THE MEMORY OF AFTER, originally published as LEVEL 2, was not on my TBR list until recently. I saw an add for it on Facebook, and liked the look of the cover and the new title… which is lame, I know, I shouldn’t judge books by their covers or titles… but honestly, I disliked the original title. And that combined with the old cover just… put me off. But the change and the option to read it for free drew me in.

Overall it wasn’t a BAD book… it’s told mainly through memories and I LOVED those parts. The sections that took place in the actual ‘Level 2’ portion of the book (a ‘waiting room’ for heaven basically) were honestly… really boring. I thought the world building was lacking and I couldn’t really get behind the reason for the war that was happening. I read this book last week and I can’t even remember what the ‘bad guys’ were called. Angels vs God or something. I didn’t really pay that much attention when it came to those parts.

I didn’t have problems with the characters (outside of one guy… who’s name I can’t even remember. But he was their leader and was just a total asshole for no reason) but the world building was just… not doing it for me. 

The memories tho… those were rich. I loved the parts with Neil or her father the most. Neil was just such a good guy who really wanted to help. And the relationship between her and her father was very real, sad, and complex. I wish we would have seen more of her mother though. There are a few cases, but I really would have liked to have gotten deeper into that relationship as well.

And the way that the mystery of how Felicia got disowned from her family and what the hell happened to screw her up so much played out well. I loved the pacing and the selection of memories. 

The ending felt a bit rushed and wasn’t really that intense or shocking or anything. I kinda saw it coming… It was happy, had a nice resolution, but I didn’t feel blown away. And that’s why I gave it a 3 rating.

Anyway~ I do recommend this book, especially if you have some free time to check it out on Pulse It (it’s still free until April 28th, so hurry!) or can pick it up at the library. And I am planning on reading the next one to see what happens.

2 thoughts on “The Memory of After

  1. Shannon

    Another great review! I thought this book looked really interesting so I’m kind of sad to see you found it a bit boring. I’ll have to check it out – the memories thing sounds like something I would really enjoy. :]

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      Thank you so much again 😀

      Yeah if you can get it from the library then I def. recommend it. The memories were SO good that they totally made up for the other parts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

