Mila 2.0

10222362

Title: Mila 2.0

Author: Debra Driza

Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past—that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do.

Now she has no choice but to run—from the dangerous operatives who want her terminated because she knows too much and from a mysterious group that wants to capture her alive and unlock her advanced technology. However, what Mila’s becoming is beyond anyone’s imagination, including her own, and it just might save her life.

Review: I didn’t love this book, but I didn’t hate it either. I went into this book expecting a heart-pounding story of a girl who finds out that she’s really an android. Since it’s YA I expected romance and high school and angst. When I found a normal girl living a life very similar to one that I had when I was a teen I was surprised. This wasn’t how I expected it to start. And then from then on it was nothing like I expected… and I’m not sure if it was good or not.

The things that I liked about this were in the details. How Mila was just a normal girl adjusting to a new town, the loss of her father, and navigating the catty girls of high school. (I actually felt that the book could have used MORE of this post-Android realization)

But then enter mystery boy. Who I waited the ENTIRE BOOK to be something mind blowing and instead… he wasn’t even in the book for 90% of the time. Instead of him being: a) an android, b) a member of the military/ secret organization/ mole or c) a certain someone’s brother he was just… a boy that Mila met and fell for way too quickly and thought about way too much. Mystery boy drove me nuts and her ‘feelings’ for him just felt so unjustified.

I also really liked how it was Mila and her mom vs the bad guys. Not Mila and mystery boy (which is how most YA is). I liked some of the side characters, and some of the action scenes. But I didn’t really connect with anyone, nor did I feel that overly emotional towards any of the scenes where I felt I should have.

I do like how there are a few things that got left in the wind because I want to find out about them (like the birthstone necklace and the random calling Mila by a different name at one point, Lucas ). I didn’t really buy the ending with mystery boy and I’m holding my breath a LITTLE bit longer to wait and see if he does turn out to be something mind blowing. Because really.

I do plan on reading the next book, I just hope it gets a bit more exciting and that I can connect with the characters more than I did this time around.

I won this ARC from Goodreads First Reads giveaway and wrote an honest review to say thank you. I know this book came out in March, but my mother got ahold of it before I did, so that’s why my review is a little late. This review was written based on the ARC that I received.

Leave a Reply

