Stacking the Shelves (2)

Stacking The Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

photo (2) 9266524 12753231

For those of you who don’t know, I went to the USA last week and… ended up hauling THIRTEEN new books back to Japan with me. I hit up TWO bookstores on my trip (and would have gone to more if I’d had the time!) My grandmother purchased most of these books (as a belated birthday present) and I grabbed a few for myself… plus two eBooks… (If you count the image on the left you can see only 12 books, I didn’t include the Sarah Dessen book that I won since I posted it last week).

eBooks (purchased on sale!) include MONUMENT 14 and MOONGLASS

From my grandmother: THE WAY WE FALL, OPAL, CODA, IF I STAY, THE ADORATION OF JENNA FOX, THIS IS NOT A TEST, and WINTER GIRLS.

And for myself from myself (new releases!!!): UNBREAKABLE, THE PROGRAM, THE 5TH WAVE, and BREAK MY HEART 1,000 TIMES.

Won: MILA 2.0 (I actually won Mila 2.0 back a few months ago, but my mother decided to read it when it arrived at my US address and then never handed it over until I got there…)

So that’s them! I kept freaking out that my suitcase was going to be over weight and hid a few in my husband’s suitcase (shhh, don’t tell him!) just incase. I mainly tried to keep to paperbacks since they’re heavy AND I don’t have that much space in my apartment to keep books. And since I wasn’t spending my OWN money for most of them I decided to give a few series that I’ve been wanting to read (but not sure I wanted to shell out the money for) a try. I’ve been on a major mix of disaster and contemporary, so that’s why you can see those two extremes. If I’d had the money/ luggage space I WOULD have grabbed ALLLLL the new releases, but it’s hard to justify that when I can get most of them on kindle for under $10 (and on sale if I’m lucky and wait a bit!)

I honestly don’t even know how to go about tackling this massive pile but so far I’ve read MILA 2.0 (check out my review here), MONUMENT 14 (five stars!!! It was SO good), and I’m 30% into MOONGLASS and on page 227 of THE 5TH WAVE.

But srsly, y’all don’t know how good it feels to have physical books again. It’s been TOO LONG!

22 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (2)

    1. river Post author

      I just finished Moonglass last night and it was so freaking beautiful! I’m majorly in love with Jessi Kirby now. Have you read Golden yet? It’s SO good.

      Thanks!

      Reply
    1. river Post author

      I’m really excited to read that, I heard about it while I was reading MONUMENT 14, and I’m a sucker for survival stories. Mila 2.0 was pretty good, I hope you enjoy it if you get the chance to read it.

      Reply
  1. Kelly L.

    Physical books <3(:
    I love them the most because you can touch them, hug them, and even throw them across the room. ;D
    You will definitely enjoy Unbreakable, it is just soo good!
    Enjoy all your books & thanks for stopping by my STS! (:

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      They’re such a rare treat for me now that I don’t have access to an English bookstore.

      I am so excited to read Unbreakable, I loooooved Unraveling!

      Reply
  2. Quinn

    Wow, that is awesome that you were able to pick you so many books when you were in the U.S. I see you have Opal in that pile. I think JLA is such a fun writer. Her Lux series is my favorite of her books.

    Annnnyway, I hope you enjoy all your new goodies. Happy reading 🙂

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      I know! The last time I went I only got 5. I just got lucky that my birthday was recently ^^v

      I really like the LUX series (scroll down a few entries on my blog and you can see me ranting about them, lol). I wanted to pick up the COVENANT series, but neither of the bookstores had them 😦 So i’ll have to stick to buying them on Kindle.

      Thanks!

      Reply
    1. river Post author

      I know, I didn’t even realize just how many until I put them in that pile, lol!

      I actually just finished The 5th Wave last night. It lives up to the hype!

      Reply
    1. river Post author

      The 5th Wave was really good! I can’t wait to read If I Stay, I’ve head some really good things about 😀

      Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

