Red Balloon Bookshop

Image

Image

During my trip to the USA I spent three days in Michigan and then three days in Saint Paul, Minnesota. While in Saint Paul my husband was presenting his research at an international conference, so I had some free time in the afternoon to do whatever I wanted. What I wanted to do was go to a bookstore…

So I googled the closest Barnes & Nobles and that was… a good 25 minutes away by car. Being carless I wasn’t looking forward to shelling out $30 for a taxi. So I googled a bit more and found… The Red Balloon Bookshop. It was only 8 minutes by taxi from the hotel. So I thought I’d give it a try. 

This place is adorable you guys. It looks like a house from the outside and there’s a friendly, warm, book-loving atmosphere inside. I went at opening time and there were a bunch of moms and small children there for story time. I was a bit worried that it was going to mainly be children’s books, but there was an entire wall dedicated to Young Adult. And there were plenty of new releases to choose from. I spent at least an hour combing over the selection before settling on three books (at that point I’d already bought so many books in Michigan that I was worried about my suitcase’s weight…). I had a nice chat with the booksellers and reminisced about my own bookselling days. 

I could have probably kicked back and read for a bit while I was there, but I wanted to head back to the hotel to meet my husband for lunch, so I took a taxi back and added my books to my pile.

When I got back to the hotel and put my books away I found an adorable bookmark tucked into one of my new books and I’ve been using it ever since. I don’t really have any bookmarks since I read most of my books on my kindle, so I was very pleased to find this.

If you’re ever in Saint Paul, MN drop by the Red Balloon!

 

Leave a Reply

