Biking around Saint Paul

ImageImageImage

During out trip to Saint Paul my husband was busy for most of the time, but at night we were able to go out for dinner and explore the area. We went to a few parks and down along the Mississippi river (which was a 5 minute walk from our hotel).

While walking around we kept seeing these green bikes (pictured above) EVERYWHERE. There was a little machine next to the set of them (about 20 bikes) and you could rent the bike for the day. It cost like $6 to rent it and then an additional $1 for each 30 mins or so. Since we ride our bikes A LOT back home, he thought this would be really fun and rented us two bikes.

The way it worked was you used your credit or debit card in the machine and got a code that you used to unlock the bike. Then you could return the bike to ANY other station in the area and once it was locked it calculated your time and charged you accordingly. We decided to use them for an hour and rode around looking for a supermarket (we wanted to buy some beer, but everything near us was closed and the bars were expensive). We found a gas station (which my husband LOVED) and got some snacks before riding back over the river.

Originally I was hesitant to use them because I’m so used to MY bike, and I had a hard time getting use to THAT, but he was feeling adventurous and convinced me to do it. I was also worried about getting lost, but in the end I’m really glad that he convinced me. I had a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

