TOP TEN FAVORITE COVERS OF BOOKS THAT I’VE READ

8591107 12812550

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is one of my favorite books and I originally was drawn to it because of the cover. It’s dark and murky, unfocused and terrifying. I actually love all the covers from this series, but this is my favorite, and I’ve actually had a photo from the cover-shoot as my desktop background for the past year.

Days of Blood and Starlight is another favorite. I love that it stuck to the theme of dark eyes surrounded by bright, colorful, sinister masks. It’s a toss up between this and the first cover, but I like the pop of pink over the blue feathers, so that’s why I picked this cover.

2169506 12578313

The entire ‘Last Survivors’ Series has amazing covers, and I’m a HUGE sucker for moon images, but the cover of The Dead & The Gone is my favorite because I feel that it properly shows the horror of what was happening in these books. I love how huge the moon looks, and the sick green color makes it  incredibly eerie.

Golden has quickly cemented a permanent place in my heart since I read it a few weeks ago and the cover is freaking AMAZING. If you’ve seen a physical copy (I’ve only seen images, but I’m dying to get my hands on one) it’s accented IN GOLD on the spine and under the jacket. Now, I actually HATE gold (I only wear silver) so this is kinda a big deal for me…

17331317 10756656

Not A Drop to Drink has such a simple cover, but if you take in the details it really paints a picture of the story. I LOVE the huge font coming up over the hill, it just makes me feel anxious that someone is coming for the pond… someone evil… I also really like how you can see Lynn on the top of the house.

Under the Never Sky is another favorite that I picked up because I loved the cover so much. The colors are beautiful, the girl looks strong, and what is that crazy power radiating out behind her?! I had to know.

9378297 15729616

Anna Dressed in Blood is one of the most terrifying books I’ve ever read (and I mean horror-wise, not theme), and I usually avoid horror because I am STILL unable to sleep well if I think about the first (and ONLY) episode of of Supernatural that I ever watched (burning mom on the ceiling D: ). The cover of this was just so deliciously beautifully creepy that I couldn’t resist checking it out tho. (I had to read it with the lights on).

Fragments (and the Partial) series is such a weird series for me because I am hopplessly in love with Samm, so when he showed up (and his freaking BACK no less… his sexy back…) I kinda flipped my shit and yes. I love this cover. Because of Samm’s back. Hmmm… (okay the rest of it is great too. The broken city. The font rising up out of the water… but… Samm…)

15714399 12680986

Some of you might wonder why I put Hana Walker’s Half Life 2:46 on here because this cover isn’t really beautiful… but it’s fucking creative! I know the author (and this book is AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING! YOU READ IT NOWWWWWWW) and I know how he made the cover (his kid’s felt markers!). The cover reflects a lot about the story, and that’s what I love about it. Typewriter font for the journalism that failed Japan after the March 11th earthquake, nuclear hazard symbols in the bike tires for the nuclear disaster AND Hana’s broken bike. And if you haven’t figured out that the red sun is from the Japanese flag by now… well get out (no, just joking). This cover is perfect for this book.

Timepiece was not a favorite book (or part of a favorite series) but the covers for the Hourglass novels with the gravity defying girls (and hair) are really just… pretty. And I like pretty.

Do you see any covers that you loved?! What are your favorites?

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

4 thoughts on “TOP TEN FAVORITE COVERS OF BOOKS THAT I’VE READ

  1. Melissa Giorgio

    Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my all-time favorite covers, too! It’s wickedly creepy (Girl of Nightmares is frightening as well, maybe more so because she’s actually looking AT you). I love the little bit of red mixed in.

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      It was hard to choose between the two, but I like the colors on this one more than the second (maybe TOO much red… where it’s more subtle here).

      Reply
  2. Shannon @ Twilight Sleep

    I love your top ten! I was going to do this feature too, except make it Top Ten Thursday instead but I didn’t have time to get around to it. Maybe I’ll still do it. It’s funny because I made my list of top ten covers and we had a lot of the same ones!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

