Right of Way

16145735Title: Right of Way

Author: Lauren Barnholdt

Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: Here are Peyton and Jace, meeting on vacation. Click! It’s awesome, it’s easy, it’s romantic. This is the real deal.

Unless it isn’t. Because when you’re in love, you don’t just stop calling one day. And you don’t keep secrets. Or lie. And when your life starts falling apart, you’re supposed to have the other person to lean on.

Here are Peyton and Jace again, broken up but thrown together on a road trip. One of them is lying about the destination. One of them is pretending not to be leaving something behind. And neither of them is prepared for what’s coming on the road ahead…

Review: I received this ARC from edelweiss, thank you!

Overall this book was enjoyable. It was a nice, light read. I liked the way it was written (very intense!) and I even didn’t mind the alternating POV (I HATE alternating POVs but this was really well done). Both Peyton and Jace had clear voices and I was able to tell who was who every time. I also like how sometimes there were flashbacks and other times we got to see the same scene from each person’s side.

At the start of the book there are multiple HORRIBLE THINGS THAT HAPPENED and for a good 30-40% of the book we don’t know for sure what these things were. They slowly start to trickle out of the two characters and we get the full story. While they were pretty shitty things to happen, I didn’t feel that they warranted the DRAMA that came with them.

Both Peyton and Jace felt a bit cliched at times… and I had a lot of trouble connecting to either character. I felt like I was watching something on the CW because while I could understand both of them… I just didn’t really feel any connection.

The biggest problem I had with this was that I just didn’t see what Peyton saw in Jace or what Jace saw in Peyton other than… they’re both good looking. I didn’t feel the chemistry between the two, and other than ‘they talked a lot’ and ‘he/she’s hot’ I couldn’t figure out WHY they were so damn in love with each other.

I read that this is a companion book to TWO WAY STREET and if you haven’t read that it’s okay… you will totally get this story without that one… but the BIG SECRET from the first novel is spoiled in this book. I think I might still read TWO WAY STREET tho just to see what it was all about.

One thought on “Right of Way

  1. Kelly L.

    Ohh, Right of Way is a lot like Two Way Street then. Two Way Street also makes you wait for the big reveal, but we get little hints along the way.
    And yeah, not figuring out why two characters are in love with each other besides “they look hot” spoils the entire book 85% of the time. :l
    Great review River! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

