Not a Drop to Drink

17331317

Title: Not a Drop to Drink

Author: Mindy McGinnis

Rating:  ★★★ ★★

Synopsis: Teenage Lynn has been taught to defend her pond against every threat: drought, a snowless winter, coyotes, and, most important, people looking for a drink. She makes sure anyone who comes near the pond leaves thirsty or doesn’t leave at all.

Confident in her own abilities, Lynn has no use for the world beyond the nearby fields and forest. But when strangers appear, the mysterious footprints by the pond, the nighttime threats, and the gunshots make it all too clear Lynn has exactly what they want, and they won’t stop until they get it. . . .

New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant says Not a Drop to Drink is a debut “not to be missed.” With evocative, spare language and incredible drama, danger, and romance, Mindy McGinnis depicts one girl’s journey in a frontierlike world not so different from our own.

Review: I made my mom read this after I finished it and I told her ‘this totally reminds me of you, and our family’. She got about 20% into it and was like WTF HOW DOES THIS REMIND YOU OF US?! And then she kept reading and… it clicked.

How many of you could survive a zombie apocalypse? Or a fight to the death in the annual Hunger Games? How about if you were faced with a killer virus? Killer robots? A 2nd ice age? Yeah… these are some of my favorite end-of-the-world book scenarios  but… these ones don’t terrify me (well… maaaaaaaaybeeeeeee zombies) as much as the idea of having to just plain survive. I mean, we’d all die if any of these were to actually happen. But what about when the odds are against you… and survival IS possible (and not because you’re an olympic-trained fighter). What then?

I grew up in basically… the same back-woods countryside that Lynn survives in in this book. My house was in the middle of nowhere, and we have a huge pond behind it. My father, an avid hunter, taught us how to shoot, hunt and track. I went to outdoor wilderness camp every summer growing up, and I know how to fish, purify water, and gut a deer (ew, right?). My family has a huge garden, my mother cans EVERYTHING and our freezer is usually filled with venison. All of these things that I grew up with rang SO TRUE with me while I was reading this book.

I’m from Michigan, where we get snow about 6 months out of the year, and I’ve gone without power and running water more times than I can count.

So if we ran out of clean drinking water, could I survive? Could my family? I think we’d have a chance. And this is why I connected so well with this book. This is why I had to share it with my mother. I could see and feel this entire story from start to end. It was so easy to put myself in Lynn’s shoes, to think about the choices she had to make, and compare them to the ones that I’d make if I were in the same position.

This book is bloody, raw, and emotional. It pulls NO punches and spares no one. There is pain and suffering all around, but there is also hope, growth, happiness, and I love how Lynn changes through the book. I had actual moments of gasping-OMFG THAT DID NOT JUST HAPPEN-throw my kindle down on the bed-tears in my eyes CANNOT STOP READING hysterics.

And one of THE MOST refreshing things about this is that it’s a standalone. You get a full story with a bittersweet ending and a perfect conclusion that just sits so right. I couldn’t have asked for more.

Keep your eyes out for this one when it hits shelves. It’s a MUST READ!

I received an eARC of this from Edelweiss. Thank you!

3 thoughts on “Not a Drop to Drink

  1. Mindy McGinnis

    RIver – THANK YOU so much for such a lovely review! I can’t tell you how glad I am that DRINK resonated with you. I think you can probably tell by the narrative that I grew up much the same way you did 🙂 Nowadays, I’ve got the pond, I can my own food, the boyfriend supplies the venison… and still I wonder if we would “make it.” Thanks again for reading, so pleased you enjoyed it!

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      Give me a moment here while I stumble over myself with excitement that you commented and YAY! I’m so glad that you liked my review. Country girls FTW! It’s funny because I ditched that life for the big city (BIG city of Tokyo) and after we had that huge earthquake a few years ago I went into ‘survival’ mode and fell back on all those skills that I learned growing up (filled the bathtub with water, bought canned food, stocked up on flashlights etc) and my mom laughed SO hard at me and I got a huge ‘told ya so, and where’s my thanks’.

      Thanks so much again for such an awesome book! Forcing this on EVERYONE!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

