Parasite

17621716

Title: Parasite

Author: Mira Grant

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: A decade in the future, humanity thrives in the absence of sickness and disease.

We owe our good health to a humble parasite – a genetically engineered tapeworm developed by the pioneering SymboGen Corporation. When implanted, the tapeworm protects us from illness, boosts our immune system – even secretes designer drugs. It’s been successful beyond the scientists’ wildest dreams. Now, years on, almost every human being has a SymboGen tapeworm living within them.

But these parasites are getting restless. They want their own lives…and will do anything to get them.

Review: I received this ARC from Netgalley and I’m writing this honest review to say THANK YOU!

I first heard about this book from a friend and decided to give this a try. This was my first Mira Grant book and I’m SO glad that I gave her a chance. I’ve heard all about her Newsflesh series, but being terrified (legitimately AFRAID) of zombies I’ve always been wary of trying them. Now I might have to re-think that.

So I picked up this book and holy WOW what a breath of fresh air. I LOVE YA, dystopian, end-of-the-world shit AND I love happy ALL THE FEELS contemporary romance. But it was so nice to get away from the teenage/high school drama for a bit. It was also nice to NOT have a story about falling in love. I LOVED that Sal and Nathan were already a couple, committed, and had been together for so long.

I also LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVED all of the dog action! Omfg puppies EVERYWHERE! Doggies and doggies galore! I’m a HUGE dog lover and living abroad makes it hard for me to keep a pet and I miss my own dog so much IT HURTS. So having dogs in this book was such a nice touch. And they were SAFE dogs that didn’t serve as a way to break my heart (no puppy deaths here!)

The writing in this was SO GOOD too. This was one of those rare times when I REALLY wished I had a physical ARC over an eARC because I kept wanting to flip back and forth between the interviews, book entries, and suicide note that were between the chapters. Those were so well done and so interesting and I really want to just go through and re-read them all without the chapters between to experience the full article. Because man, those were GOOD.

Now onto the creepy stuff… WORMS. EW. SO MUCH EW. I hate worms and snakes and anything that slithers and slimes. I’ve always been scared of getting some type of parasitic worm and just. Ew ew ew. That said… for some reason I kept reading this WHILE EATING. I don’t get it either. This was very Fringe-y for me (I LOVED that show) and made me think of the episode where they had a crazy worm that lived in people’s stomach. Oh man, just so much grossness. And I loved it.

Rating this book was hard because I wanted to give it a 5, but there were moments when I just didn’t agree with what was going on. I felt that some of the foreshadowing was WAY too heavy and despite knowing what was really going to happen I wanted it SO BADLY NOT TO. I also couldn’t help but compare the ‘sleepwalkers’ with zombies. I know that the worms were taking over the bodies and ‘hijacking’ the humans inside, but it still was a bit too zombiei-ish for me.

There were also times when I just didn’t like the interaction between Sal and her family. I get that Sal lost her memories and has the living experience of a 6 year old, but sometimes when she was interacting with her family I just didn’t understand how they could act/talk to her the way they did. There’s one part where her father does something HORRIBLE to her and I was just so upset with it! And I just didn’t understand why they were being that way towards her.

Overall I loved it though and I can’t WAIT for the next book. It sucks that I’m going to have to wait a really, really really long time though. SO MANY QUESTIONS!!!!!!! Ah. Anyway, check this out!

Leave a Reply

