Tumble & Fall

17562111

Title: Tumble & Fall

Author: Alexandra Coutts

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: The world is living in the shadow of oncoming disaster. An asteroid is set to strike the earth in just one week’s time; catastrophe is unavoidable. The question isn’t how to save the world—the question is, what to do with the time that’s left? Against this stark backdrop, three island teens wrestle with intertwining stories of love, friendship and family—all with the ultimate stakes at hand.

Review:  This book was beautiful and haunting on so many levels. I’m normally not a huge fan of multiple POV novels, but the voices and stories in this were so distinct that I didn’t mind at all. I do wish that the three stories would have lined up a bit more than they did… I found them to be all very good individually, but when the three main characters paths crossed it was… a bit anticlimatic.

It’s hard to choose which story I liked best. Sienna’s was probably my least favorite because she ‘fell in love’ in like, the last 4 days left on earth. But she was a messed up 17 year old (was she 17?) who had just tried to kill herself not that long ago. I guess when you’re young and the world is ending it doesn’t really matter how much time it takes to fall in love. Normally this type of instalove would have made me REALLY annoyed with the book… but given the circumstances…

Zan’s story was the saddest. I loved the mystery in it, but the way she twisted her thoughts and feelings around and was upset with herself and doubted her love… it was just really tragic. But I’m glad that she went on the journey that she did, it was like, the most perfect way to spend your last few days on earth.

Caden’s story was interesting… but weird. It didn’t really feel that ‘real’ to me. I liked the way it ended though, and that because he disappeared his family was able to change and grow and forgive themselves when they needed to the most.

The writing in this was stunning. And emotional. I was moved to tears a few times towards the end. And yet, woven together in the sadness, the uncertainty, and the fear, was hope. Hope and forgiveness.

I was a little sad that in the end it was left open ended. I guess it’s up to the reader to choose how it ends… and that gave the book a very unique feeling. And it lingers… which is what a good book should do.

I was dying to read this book and I’m so glad that I was given the chance. Thanks to Edelweiss for letting me read this!

 

Leave a Reply

