The Sight Seer

a3
Title: The Sight Seer
Author: Melissa Giorgio
Rating: ★★★★★
Synopsis: Gabi Harkins likes to think she’s a pretty normal sixteen-year-old. She goes to school, suffers though an awful part-time job, and deals with a bratty younger sister. But when a potential shoplifter morphs into a monster right in front of her, Gabi realizes her life is far from normal—especially when that monster follows her home and ends up battling a boy wielding a sword in her backyard.

The boy, Rafe Fitzgerald, is a member of Silver Moon, an organization devoted to eradicating demons before they kill humans. If this little bit of news isn’t earth-shattering enough, Rafe reveals that he needs Gabi’s help. As strong as Rafe is, he does not possess the Sight—a rare ability that allows a hunter to See through a demon’s glamour, enabling them to strike before the demon does. But guess who does?

While Gabi is reluctant to face another demon, she knows she owes Rafe big time for saving her. Together, they’re thrown headfirst into heart-stopping situations as they battle newer and more frightening demons. When she starts to fall for Rafe, Gabi knows her normal life is gone forever.

Review: Where do I even begin with this? I am trying SO HARD not to write a biased review guys… so just believe me. I actually HATE reading books that my friends wrote because I’m always worried ‘what if I hate it’. Then I worry ‘what if I love it and nobody believes me because I’m friends with the author?!’ Well… let me tell you, THERE IS NO BIAS HERE. I loved this book and I will not lie. Sure there were moments of predictability, but that comes with the territory of MOST fiction. While I love books that have gut-wrenching twists… it is nice to have fun books that leave you just plain happy.

And this book does just that. Average girl, cute boy, monsters, kissing and SO MUCH SASS YOU CAN’T HANDLE THE SASS. I fucking LOVE Gabi. She has SO much sass, I was cracking up and quoting her and just I CANNOT get over her. I loved her voice. LOVED IT. And I loved her choices. I loved her flaws, and her way of thinking. I would totally be friends with her. She had me at ‘I work at a Texas themed convenience store called the Convenience Corral’. And then when she went and knocked over a display of chips. HILARIOUS.

When Gabi faces down demons, secret organizations, and a dwindling wardrobe (because the cute guy who is slaying the demons and working for the secret organization keeps getting demon blood on her clothes and RUINING THEM) she does it with spunk. She doesn’t run away and hide or cry. She doesn’t become a target and she doesn’t fall into any of the damsel in distress tropes. She is a fighter, and just looks at the situation and says ‘ew, but okay, lets do this shit’.

Months ago I publicly announced that I thought Rafe was a dumb name for a character. I didn’t know that Melissa had USED the name and effectively stuck my foot in my mouth and down my throat. I still hold true to that though, not a fan of the name. But maybe that’s because all of the other Rafe’s I’ve read about SUCK. This Rafe HE MADE ME CRY. Yes, I was sitting at work and Rafe is being all sincere because EVERYTHING he says just makes you want to hug him and be like WHO ARE YOU?! HOW ARE YOU SO ADORABLE?! but yeah. Real tears happened.

And Chloe, Gabi’s sister… omfg she IS MY SISTER. I am just secretly wondering if she was modeled off my own sister. WHAT A LITTLE BRAT. She was such a real character to me, and I just loved the family dynamic so much.

I also loved Gabi’s friends. It’s so refreshing when the side characters also don’t fall into the standard cliche’s that most friends fall into in the YA genre. Penny and Harrison and Evan were all so well rounded and I just felt like I knew them. I’ve been friends with people like them before. I’ve had dumb fights with girls and had to deal with hot guys who are full of themselves.

Characters aside… there were some things that I did NOT see coming and like I said, there are moments of predictability, but then there are things just just blew me out of the water. I HAVE SO MANY QUESTIONS THAT NEED ANSWERS. And the demons! THEY ARE SO FREAKY. I loved the descriptions of them and the creepy ass names that Gabi gave them. I also like the set up of Silver Moon. We get enough information that we can understand, but there is still SO MUCH MORE to be learned.

And THE ENDING OMFG HOW CAN IT JUST END LIKE THAT. WHO WAS ON THE PHONE?! HOW COULD HE DO THAT. AHHHH! I need the sequel NOW!!!!!

I would also like to note that I basically read this in less than 24 hour. COULD. NOT. PUT. IT. DOWN.

5 thoughts on “The Sight Seer

  1. Vanessa Cadrin

    yeah?? are you vouching for it so hard? i dunno, the synopsis just SCREAMS uber cheese to me… i’m very reluctant… but since you love it so much, maybe i should put it on my to-read shelf :p

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      Well you don’t have to read it if you don’t want to. I know you aren’t a big fan of The Mortal Instruments, and it has a similar feel to that.

      I read it and loved it and I’m now reviewing it just as I would any other book that I’ve read and loved.

      Reply
    1. river Post author

      Prob because there aren’t multiple types of ‘other world’ creatures? Since I know you hated that aspect of those books…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

