Dangerous Girls

16074758

Title: Dangerous Girls
Author: Abigail Haas
Rating: ★★★★★
Synopsis: It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives.

But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations. As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer, she discovers harsh revelations about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

Awaiting the judge’s decree, it becomes clear to Anna that everyone around her thinks she is not only guilty, but also dangerous. And when the whole story comes out, reality is more shocking than anyone ever imagined…

Review: Oh. My. Fucking. God. I don’t even know where to start with this book. I read it in A DAY. I started reading it during dinner while my husband was doing his own thing and then after dinner he started watching TV and I kept reading… and reading… and I had like 5% left and it was getting LATE and I was brushing my teeth and got to the end and just… I had to stop what I was doing… toothpaste dripping down my chin because WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT ENDING DID I JUST READ THAT RIGHT OH MY GOD WHERE IS SOMEONE I NEED TO TALK TO THEM ABOUT THIS but noone has read this so now I need to make my friends read this because HOLY. SHIT.

I’m not a huge fan of mysteries, and honestly, I don’t even remember why I requested this book… guess I was in the mood for some contemporary fiction. Well well well. This book took me on a roller-coaster  A group of teens on spring break in Aruba… one of them is murdered, they’re all questioned, two are prime suspects. One gets off because his family basically buys him a free pass and the other, the narrator of the novel, has to stay in jail and go to trial.

The story is told from Anna’s point of view, but it alternates between before vacation when they were back in school, during vacation before the murder, and after the murder when she’s in jail or court. There are also sections that are transcripts from TV shows, 911 calls, questionings and testimonies. This was SO much fun to read and I kept picturing the entire book like an episode of Law & Order (or any variety of that show that you please)

The story of Anna and her best friend, the girl who got killed, is intense. And deep. And a bit twisted. And you can’t help but feel awful for poor Anna through the entire thing. Her friends turn on her, she’s lost her best friend, her boyfriend abandoned her… it’s just a hot mess. And the detective taking care of the case just has it out for her. Then one of her friends just flat out betrays her and lies under oath.

But things are not as they seem and suddenly the end twists around and kicks you in the face and punches you in the kidneys and laughs at you and you’re left standing there in the middle of the night with a toothbrush in one hand, a kindle in the other, and toothpaste dripping down your chin as your brain struggles to deal with what it just absorbed  The ending is just THAT out of left field. It’s so out of left field that it probably came in through the right side and walked around for a bit before going left and coming out at you. INSANE.

I went to bed trying to churn everything together and I want to read it again SO badly now that I know how it ends. I want to see it all from a different perspective. I DREAMED about the damn thing and then kept thinking about it the next day. I’m STILL floored by what I read. I NEED SOMEONE TO READ THIS AND TALK TO ME NOW OKAY. Ah so good. I love books like this. So go read!!!!

I received an ARC of Dangerous Girls from Edelweiss and wrote this honest review to say thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

