FEED – Newsflesh #1

8146541
Title: Feed
Author: Mira Grant
Rating: ★★★★★
Synopsis: The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beaten the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop. The infection spread, virus blocks taking over bodies and minds with one, unstoppable command: FEED. Now, twenty years after the Rising, bloggers Georgia and Shaun Mason are on the trail of the biggest story of their lives – the dark conspiracy behind the infected. The truth will get out, even if it kills them.

River’s review:

If you know me, you know that I am LEGIT TERRIFIED OF ZOMBIES. Like, I watch zombie movies to prep for the future. So this book and the future in it are basically… my worst nightmare. Why did I read this? Facing my fears? Peer pressure? A sick love for all things end-of-the-world? idek. Probably the same reason I watched THE WALKING DEAD. But I am so glad that I did.

I actually got an ARC of Grant’s newest series, PARASITE, and that was my first exposure to her writing. I loved Parasite. I think worms are disgusting, but I’m not TERRIFIED of them. And while PARASITE was getting good reviews, FEED was getting BETTER ones. So I took the plunge, bought it for 2.99 in the kindle store, and started a 5 day CRAZY ride.

This is NOT a zombie survival book. It takes place in a post-zombie world where the zombies have been ‘tamed’, people live in ‘safety’ and the government is in control. The internet works, people have jobs, careers, lives. Sure you have to get a million blood tests to get into/outof anywhere (and all of those needles freaked me out!) and if you fail your blood test your ‘smart house’ will kill you… but hey, I want ALLLLL of that and more if this is ever a future I find myself in.

Georgia, Shaun and Buffy are our three main friends, running a website where they report the news. They get tagged to follow the presidential campaign and from here it turns into a political thriller with a twister conspiracy that basically uses the ZOMBIES instead of good old fashioned… idek, bombs? snipers? Less-bring-you-back-from-the-dead- bio-weapons? I was worried about zombie dreams and instead I got POLITICAL NIGHTMARES (like, real, while I was sleeping dreams) wtf. I did have ONE zombie dream… but those are common for me.

I LOVED the writing, the narration, and the uses of blog entries from their website. In PARASITE we get a lot more ‘inbetween’ content (suicide notes, video transcripts, story book excerpts, and magazine interviews) which I LOVED, and was hoping to get a LITTLE more of in FEED. That’s one area where I think PARASITE was a bit stronger than FEED.

This IS a zombie book, so people DO die and the deaths are very sad and tragic (I almost cried over one while I was reading on the train) but the BIGGEST death you DO NOT see coming and your brain REFUSES to believe it until it’s over and even then you’re like ‘that was a joke, right?’ I’ve NEVER experienced such a sucker punch before in a novel. I’m very familiar with book hangover, but I rarely suffer from such a sever case of book shock and denial.

I am onboard for the rest of this series, and while I can’t wait to read more… I need to let this settle for a bit. Gimme a few weeks and I’ll be back.

2 thoughts on “FEED – Newsflesh #1

  1. Christine @ Oh, Chrys!

    This really does sound good. I think Grant has a unique way of writing and storytelling in general from my little exposure to her so far. It is bittersweet that a character unpredictably dies too! Oh, and I love the idea of using blog entries for expositional purposes. Will definitely read after I am through with Parasite.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

