Goodbye, Rebel Blue

17290286
Title: Goodbye, Rebel Blue
Author: Shelley Coriell
Rating: ★★★★
Synopsis: Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself.

River’s review: I received this ARC from Netgalley and I’m writing an honest review to say THANK YOU!!!

This book was really nice. I enjoyed the tone of it and the messages. I thought that all of the characters were good, but could have been fleshed out a bit more. I guess I felt that way about the entire book. I knew the message, but I wanted to have to dig deeper for a lot of it.

Rebel (Rebecca) Blue is a bad girl turned good when she tries to fulfill a dead girls bucket list. The list keeps getting pushed on her no matter how hard she tries to get rid of it and to prove that there’s no such thing as ‘fate’ or ‘destiny’ she decides to DO the list so she can get rid of it. This leads to a HUGE change in Rebel.

I enjoyed Rebel’s transformation. I really didn’t like her at the beginning. She was this ‘weird, artsy, sarcastic, bad-at-math, annoying’ trouble-maker who was just TOO AWARE of the fact that she was all these things. A lot of her bad attitude felt really forced. There was a lot of mention of things that made her ‘different’ and ‘quirky’ but… I just hate being hit over the head with HOW different someone is. It didn’t feel genuine. But as she worked through the bucket list and became not only a better person, but the person that she wanted so badly to be… that started to feel more real.

I really liked Macey and Nate’s little sister Gabby. Nate was decent, and the love interest was pretty nice compared to some other books in this genre. I LOVED that Rebel didn’t drop everything for Nate. LOVED IT.

And Rebel’s ‘bucket list’ was so perfect. I LOVED the way that was worked into the story. I also really liked the ending. It made me smile 🙂

If you’re a fan of Jessi Kirby or Sarah Dessen, I think you’d enjoy this book.

Leave a Reply

