Contemporary Summer Fling: The Distance Between Us

17406843
Title: The Distance Between Us
Author: Kasie West
Rating: ★★★★
Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.

Sam’s Review:

4.5 stars

Kasie West impressed me with Pivot Point earlier this year, but The Distance Between Us really proved to me that she is an author to watch out for. Her writing has such a personable quality to it that it’s easy to fall in love with her characters and relate to the situations which she presents themselves with.

I adored Caymen — her dry sense of humor, her awkward mannerisms, it’s so funny and genuine. She’s someone who reacts very naturally to a lot of situations. One thing I loved about her character was how sure she was of her own personality and traits, yet when it came to the world around her, she was unsure, yet honest with what she can and can’t have in her life. She reminds me a bit of myself in that her mother is her world, especially in time of loss and abandonment. I found a lot of her troubles resonated with me, and it was easy to connect with her.

I also loved the secondary characters as well, especially her mother and Mrs. Dalton in particular. I thought Mrs. Dalton was both humorous and quite the mentor at times, where as Susan (Caymen’s mother)… I just saw a lot of my own mom in her, so I had a lot of sympathy for her as the story progressed. Xander took awhile to grow on me, but I feel like West made that the point of this story. He wasn’t meant to be likable right away, and his behaviour towards the ending? I wanted to slap him. At the same time, I get what she was doing with his character and he did ultimately win me over. The only thing I didn’t like was how things were neatly wrapped up into a bow at the end, but I accepted it because I did want Xander and Caymen to be together because I do think they work quite well as a pair.

The Distance Between Us has such engrossing writing that it’s easy to keep turning the pages. It’s fast, engaging, and emotional ride, and it does an amazing job of making you feel connected to characters, particularly Caymen and Susan. This is a book I will no doubt crave a reread for, because the narrative is just that thoughtful. Kasie West is a talented writer who knows how to connect her audience, and I look forward to reading more of her work as she continues to grow as a writer.

River’s Review:

4 stars

Basically, ditto to Sam’s review. Only for me I’m not 100% on the Kasie West love train (more like 90% on it, lol). I liked her books, but neither of them blew me away like they have just about every-other-blogger-ever. Pivot Point was good, but there was WAY too much football for me. And I loved this book, but like Sam said, the ending was wrapped up a bit TOO neatly.

I DO think that her writing will grow a lot and I can’t wait to read her future books!

The best thing about this book though, was Caymen, hand’s down. I loved her voice.

This Song Will Save Your Life
The Moon and More
In Honor
Smart Girls Get What They Want
Also Known As
The Trouble With Flirting

AND DON’T FORGET TO ENTER OUR GIVE AWAY!!! You could win one of these fabulous books!!!!

2 thoughts on “Contemporary Summer Fling: The Distance Between Us

Leave a Reply

