Contemporary Summer Fling: Going Vintage

10594356
Title: Going Vintage
Author: Lindsey Leavitt
Rating: ★★★
Synopsis: When Mallory’s boyfriend, Jeremy, cheats on her with an online girlfriend, Mallory decides the best way to de-Jeremy her life is to de-modernize things too. Inspired by a list of goals her grandmother made in1962, Mallory swears off technology and returns to a simpler time (when boyfriends couldn’t cheat with computer avatars). The List:
1. Run for pep club secretary
2. Host a fancy dinner party/soiree
3. Sew a dress for Homecoming
4. Find a steady
5. Do something dangerous
But simple proves to be crazy-complicated, and the details of the past begin to change Mallory’s present. Add in a too-busy grandmother, a sassy sister, and the cute pep-club president–who just happens to be her ex’s cousin–and soon Mallory begins to wonder if going vintage is going too far.

Sam’s Review:

3.5

Going Vintage was a book I bought on a whim because I loved the concept of a girl ditching technology and trying to survive without. Sure, she does it it first because of her douche boyfriend, but watching her develop throughout the novel is surprisingly entertaining and hilarious.

Mallory’s voice for the most part is quite magnetic. She’s sassy, a bit full of herself, and she feels somewhat entitled in her behavior. Generally these are not qualities I enjoy in people (characters yes, people no), but for me it worked. Mallory’s ex is a complete douche, he’s equally as entitled as she is, and it’s just funny to watch them dance around that part of their behaviour throughout the story.

Enter in Oliver who is… okay, I suppose. His character felt very flat to me and I never found myself deeply caring about him the way I think Leavitt wanted the reader to. It’s weird but neither male lead swept me off my feet while I was reading the story, and I guess for me that was a bit of a drawback for the novel. Mallory is so cute with her merit-badges and lists, she’s quirky enough to keep the narrative moving without killing the overall pacing, and yet the romance aspects just didn’t jive with me. How this novel starts is SO PERFECT and funny, so I felt let down when I didn’t fall in love with Oliver myself. I’m not an insta-love gal (very much the opposite) and I love that their relationship has development, I just wish his character didn’t feel so… perfect at times.

One thing I wish this novel explored more was the family elements. Family plays a huge role in this story, yet certain situations felt resolved too quickly and neatly. The one with her mother spying on her? There should have been more to tying that thread up better. The one that I loved was her relationship with her grandmother and the other family. I thought that was fabulous all around.

Going Vintage will have its readers that will think its perfect. Despite my problems with the story, I really did love the narration, Mallory and just the sheer silliness of the story in spots. It’s a fun read, especially a good one when you’re not looking to put in too much brain power. It has cuteness and fluff and it does it very well. I’d definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a lighter read.

River’s review:

3.5

This is another ‘ditto’ review. I agree with EVERYTHING that Sam said, and totally feel the same. I love that we both gave it a 3.5 rating as well.

So a few more thoughts from me…

Something that I didn’t like about the book was how at the beginning Mallory doesn’t even seem like she WANTS to be with her ex-boyfriend. I mean, we get a list of reasons why she doesn’t want to make out with him and how she tries to get out of it. That really doesn’t scream ‘I am in love with my boyfriend of over a year’ to me. So I didn’t really have much sympathy for her when she found out that he was ‘cheating’.

Also, I loved the use of lists in the book, but Mallory’s lists SUCKED. They weren’t ‘list-y’ enough, if you get what I mean. Like, a list is supposed to be bullet points with short sentences to let you remember what you wanted to do. Her lists were all just… too long. Too full of information. Too not-list-like. It bugged me, and it’s probably stupid, but this book was BASED on a list, and I felt that these lists weren’t good enough (this is coming from a huge list-er).

And the whole Grandma story line… interesting, but it felt so out of place, and just… too much. We could have gone without grandma’s secret and just focused on her relationship with her Grandma (which I LOVED since I was VERY close to my own Grandma).

So overall, this book was cute, but fell a bit flat for me in some places, hence the lower rating.

This Song Will Save Your Life
The Moon and More
In Honor
Smart Girls Get What They Want
Also Known As
The Trouble With Flirting
The Distance Between Us

Well guys… this is the end! August is over, and summer is winding down. Our fling with contemporary novels might not be over, but I know that I am getting a little tired of the hot and ready for some cooler weather, hot spiced latte, and tall boots again.

Sam and I both hope you enjoyed this series! We hope to do more events like this in the future.

AND DON’T FORGET TO ENTER OUR GIVE AWAY!!! You could win one of these fabulous books!!!!

Leave a Reply

