August Look Back and August Book Haul

Howdy everyone, it’s Sam! River’s taking a bit of a hiatus and I’m stepping in for a bit to ensure the bog stays active. We’ll still have reviews from River and anything else she wants to post. Today, however, I thought I’d share with you my look back at August and what I read. Then I’ll share with you a (large) book haul. August put me on a  September book ban. I earned it.

August Look Back

Number of Books Read: 18 (Star ratings out of 5)

1) Mansfield Park, by Jane Austen (3 stars)

2) Trouble With Flirting, by Claire LaZebnik (4 stars)

3) How To Curse In Hieroglyphics, by Lesley Livingston and Jonathan Llyr (5 stars)

4) Conan the Barbarian is My Spirit Guide, By Crom!, by Rachel Kahn (4 stars)

5) Rose Under Fire, by Elizabeth Wein (5 stars)

6) Shadowlands, by Violette Malan (4 stars)

7) Alex and the Ironic Gentleman, Adrienne Kress (4 stars)

8) The Distance Between Us, by Kasie West (4.5 stars)

9) Harbinger, by Philippa Ballantine (5 stars)

10) The Raven Boys, by Maggie Stiefvater (4 stars)

11)  Just One Year, by Gayle Forman (5 stars)

12) Magic for Beginners, by Kelly Link (1 star)

13) Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn (4 stars)

14) Hate that Cat, by Sharon Creech (3.5 stars)

15) Austenland, by Shannon Hale (3.5 stars)

16) Going Vintage, by Lindsey Leavitt (3.5 stars)

17) Descendant, by Lesley Livingston (4 stars)

18) RUSH, by Eve Silver (4.5 stars)

18 books might seem like a lot for some, but for me that’s actually low considering I usually average 20+. August is always a busy month for me, but it was exceptionally harder considering my dad’s passing last February. I loved the majority of books I read, and for those curious, I’m not a picky reader. I love middle grade as much as I love YA, and I love adult novels too. I love finishing series as much as I enjoy starting them.

Also if you are a lover of middle grade fiction, it’s worth your while to check out “How To Curse In Hieroglyphics” by Lesley Livingston and Jonathan Llyr. It’s my runner up for favourite book this month. My favourite? Well let’s see, shall we?

Favourite of the Month

Image

I read a lot of awesome books in August, and in fact I had a number of 4.5 and 5 star reads, but “Just One Year” is the favourite because after reading the first book I struggled with the wait and River was sweet enough to share her copy with me. Willem is an amazing characters compared to Allyson, and I thought his story overall was much stronger than hers in the end. 

Onto the book haul!

Image

Excuse the not so great quality picture as this was sapped with my PlayStation Vita (Which I adore and am playing Sweet Fuse: At Your Side! on and I love it.)

This is why I am on a book ban. I didn’t buy all these books, as one was a gift (Manga Shakespeare, “Twelfth Night”! Thanks Becky!), two were won in giveaways (“The Beginning of Everything” and “How to Love”, both which I badly want to read!), and “How To Curse In Hieroglyphics” was sent to me by Penguin Canada/Puffin, which I have already read, reviewed and adored. READ IT! It’s adorkable.

The rest  all bought, though mostly through bargain hunting. “Blackbringer” and “Silksinger” by Lain Taylor was a must have when I found out of their existence, Deb Caletti’s book I got for a buck at my local library (looked like it had never been read), “Ballad” I paid five bucks for  (though I need to find a copy of the first book!), and “House of the Scorpio” is  book I’ve taught to my students (I’m an ESL teacher / English tutor when I am not at library school or working at RPGamer.com) but have never READ.

Then we have the Fan Expo pile which consists of “RUSH” by Eve Silver (who I interviewed over at RPGamer!  http://www.rpgamer.com/event/fanexpo13/esilver.html ) You can listen to the interview I did with her. She is AMAZING. And so kind. Seriously, read her books and love her), “Descendant” by Lesley Livingston (which my husband bought for me and I devoured) and “Indigo Springs” by A.M Dellamoncia, who is also an awesome local fantasy author (and a fellow Italio-Scotch).

September is shaping up to be a busy month reading-wise. I have a few posts in mind on top of a bunch of ARC reviews I am working on. Two books on that ARC list to read this month being “The Dream Thieves” by Maggie Stiefvater and “The Iron Traitor” by Julie Kagawa. September looks like a great month for upcoming novels. 🙂

So many new books to read! What did you all get over the month of August? Is there anything in that pile I should get on and immediately read? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

