ARC Review – Relativity, by Cristin Bishara

ImageTitle: Relativity
Author: Cristin Bishara
Rating: ★★★★
Synopsis:

If Ruby Wright could have her way, her dad would never have met and married her stepmother Willow, her best friend George would be more than a friend, and her mom would still be alive. Ruby knows wishes can’t come true; some things just can’t be undone. Then she discovers a tree in the middle of an Ohio cornfield with a wormhole to nine alternative realities.

Suddenly, Ruby can access completely different realities, each containing variations of her life—if things had gone differently at key moments. The windshield wiper missing her mother’s throat…her big brother surviving his ill-fated birth…her father never having met Willow. Her ideal world—one with everything and everyone she wants most—could be within reach. But is there such a thing as a perfect world? What is Ruby willing to give up to find out?

River’s Review:

I received an ARC from the publisher and I’m writing this honest review to say THANK YOU!

Wow, this was good! I wasn’t really sure what to expect when I requested this, but I’m so glad that I did. I could NOT put it down! Our narrator, Ruby, has a great voice, and the pacing is perfect. I read this while I was commuting, on my lunch break, and before sleeping and I had SO much trouble stopping. My husband had to turn off the light to get me to quit, lol!

Just like the blurb says, Ruby moves to a new town with her father and her new step-mother and step-sister. Ruby is a high school sophomore, and she’s super smart and into science. She finds a tree that takes her to parallel universes and she spends time going through the different universes, kinda checking them out.

The entire time Ruby is doing this, it’s really fun. She’s suffering from a leg injury through the entire thing, so there’s this constant background feeling of ‘HURRY AND GET HOME SO YOU DON’T LIKE, LOSE YOUR LEG’ but you’re also cheering for her to see what’s happening in each universe (like meeting her mother, who’s dead in her own universe).

While Ruby goes around the different worlds she meets alternate versions of the people in her life and she finds out some really cool science stuff (and how the tree came to be/ works) and I got swept up with Ruby in her fun, but towards the end Ruby comes to realize that maybe what she’s doing is actually wrong, and that she wont be able to stay in one of these parallel universes. This revelation comes with a twist and suddenly things are even more chaotic and crazy.

But with that chaos the story started to lose me a bit and the last few chapters made me bump it down from a 5-star read to a 4-star. I LOVED Ruby through the entire book; she had a great voice, I understood her choices, I sympathized with her and empathized A LOT, but at the end she seemed to have changed… not for the worse, but not really the better either. I didn’t like how angry and sassy she got. Maybe that’s the point, because she wasn’t really dealing with her feelings and issues in her OWN universe, but I just didn’t like that change.

Also there’s only a little romance in this, but it is very sweet. So if you’re looking for an engaging read with some interesting concepts, lots of focus on family, and a light romance, you’ll enjoy this a lot!

Leave a Reply

