ARC Review – The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

Image

Title: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Rating: ★★★★ 1/2
Synopsis: Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

Huge thank you to Netgalley and Scholastic for allowing me the chance to review this book.

While I wasn’t huge on her Wolves of Mercy Falls series, I found myself still attracted to Maggie Stiefvater’s work. She has this amazing way of pulling readers into her stories and even if you don’t like what is happening, it’s still pleasurable to read. I couldn’t believe how much I loved The Raven Boys, and I’m happy to report that The Dream Thieves might in fact be superior to its predecessor.

First off, I loved that the novel was mostly about Ronan, and it was great to finally have his back story. Ronan has a lot of complications, but perhaps the biggest of all, is that his dreams are haunting him both figuratively and literally. Actually, a lot of his novel feels like an untold chapter of Nightmare on Elm Street, only better. I was so pleased to have the story be focused on him because I found myself sympathizing a lot with his family situation, his lack of trust in others, and his desire to find someone who would understand him. He’s a very well-rounded character overall.

What I also appreciated was the constant growth of all the returning characters. A lot of them are finally maturing, and it was quite the wonderful to see. I loved the interactions between Gansey and Ronan, but I equally loved the creepy, almost sinister conversations between Ronan and Joseph Kavinsky — a lot of their discussions gave me the chills! Kavinsky might be one of Stievater’s best written characters as he makes you uncomfortable, hes destructive, and it’s often difficult to know what is truly going through his mind. I am even hesitant to say he might be my favourite character in this series.

Stiefvater also writes wonderful kissing scenes. She makes me happy when characters kiss because to me she makes them sound genuine, tender even. The romance, while not a focal point for me in this story was still very enjoyable. I still think the mystery elements in this series are excellent, and while mainly issues are not tied up entirely, we get a few answers, but lots ore questions.

I really cannot wait to see how this series will continue to develop. For me, I don’t even have to like Stiefvater’s work entirely to see what a talented and strong writer she is. I do think she writes excellent, fully fleshed out characters, and creates worlds with just enough of mystery that she’ll keep you guessing. Magic is a terrifying element, and in Raven Boys’ world it’s something that they will never be able to escape. I really do hate, however, how long I’m now going to have to wait for the next installment of this series.

Leave a Reply

