ARC Review – The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa

15811405Title:  The Iron Traitor (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten #2)
Author:  Julie Kagawa
Rating:  ★ 1/2

Synopsis: After his unexpected journey into the lands of the fey, Ethan Chase just wants to get back to normal. Well, as “normal” as you can be when you see faeries every day of your life. Suddenly the former loner with the bad reputation has someone to try for-his girlfriend, Kenzie. Never mind that he’s forbidden to see her again.

But when your name is Ethan Chase and your sister is one of the most powerful faeries in the Nevernever, “normal” simply isn’t to be. For Ethan’s nephew, Keirran, is missing, and may be on the verge of doing something unthinkable in the name of saving his own love. Something that will fracture the human and faery worlds forever, and give rise to the dangerous fey known as the Forgotten. As Ethan’s and Keirran’s fates entwine and Keirran slips further into darkness, Ethan’s next choice may decide the fate of them all.

Sam’s Review:

Huge thank you to Harlequin Teen and Netgalley for allowing me the opportunity to review this book!

There comes a time in every reader’s life where they have to let go of a series because it’s finally out stayed its welcome. Sadly, this is where the Iron Fey series and I will be departing, because I don’t know how much more I can take of the same repeated plot lines, melodrama, and flat characters who lack dimension.

Having read every book in this series so far, it baffles me how I managed to keep going even though the quality of each book was deteriorating. I think Kagawa’s use of Fey is excellent, but something in the Call of Forgotten series is lacking and I question if it’s me or the books themselves.

Truthfully the characters are lacking. I feel like Keirran and Annwyl’s romance was a huge rehashing of Meghan and Ash, and they were driving me crazy with how perfect everything felt. A lot of the time I had no sympathy for either character’s behaviour because the majority of the time it was brought onto them either through Ethan’s specialness or themselves. Ethan’s character went from being tolerable to painful for me and I found half the time I couldn’t be bothered with the romance between he and Kenzie, something I enjoyed int he first book, but here it got a touch to smoopy for my tastes.

Which leads me to my next issue: the pacing. Pacing is something I harp on in all my reviews, but it needs to be consistent. Once again we have very up and down pacing, but this is attributed by the insane amount of melodrama in this book. Seriously, it was way too much making it super difficult for me to care about the plot events, the characters and their emotional stability; I truly had a hard time caring, which saddens me because at one point with this series, I did care and I did want to see the characters grow and mature. Here I find the level of maturity to be lacking (even in our parental figures Meghan and Ash), and a lot of the story didn’t work for me.

I still believe Kagawa is a talented writer, and I do think her strengths lie in her descriptions and use of research. I don’t know if it was just the new cast of characters rubbing me the wrong way or if it really is me out-growing this world and its players. Regardless, those who adore this series — you’ll probably love this book and this review will likely not deter you in the slightest. Those who struggled to enjoy The Lost Prince like I have, it might be worth it to check out Kagawa’s other series if you need something different.

One thought on “ARC Review – The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa

  1. bookgeeking

    I have the first three books of this series and am really looking forward to it. I hate it when a series gets like that. I try and read books in between each, I think helps a little at least, (for me anyway). Sorry to hear you did not enjoy it that much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

