Book Review – An Autumn Dream by Melissa Giorgio

18710018Title:  An Autumn Dream

Author: Melissa Giorgio

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: Gabi, Rafe, and all of their friends are back in three exciting short stories that bridge the gap between books one and two of the Silver Moon Saga. Join them as they celebrate Halloween in A Sweet Treat—can they make it through the night without Gabi destroying her costume? Find out what Rafe’s really afraid of in Indiana Rafe, a story told exclusively from his perspective. And in An Autumn Dream, Gabi struggles to make amends with a painful part of her past. Filled with laughter and tears, demon battles and plenty of kissing, this novella is a must read for fans of The Sight Seer!

River’s Review:

I LOVED IT! Would a keyboard smash suffice as a review because aldjfalkdjfaljkdsflasdjfla!

No for real, I was so excited when I heard that this was coming out. Gabi and Rafe and Evan they all just make me so happy. The world of The Silver Moon Saga is just so… happy-making. idek. I love the characters, I love the simplicity of everything, but the immense depth of it all as well. I love the characters and their relationships. And the dialogue. I really really love the dialogue.

So there are three short stories in this… the first one his Halloween themed and Gabi and Rafe go to a school dance. UGH THE FEELS. I was instantly transported back to all of the lame high school dances I went to. Tho we never had a costume dance for Halloween! I loved the images and the feeling and maybe because it was just Halloween and today is a freezing cold fall day I was able to just immerse myself in everything. And omg Gabi and candy and Trick-or-treating. I died. Also Evan. Bathroom. HILARIOUS.

The second short story is told from Rafe’s POV and that was so fun! I love how innocent the poor boy is! His girlfriend is a violent perv (love ya Gabi!) and he blushes at EVERYTHING. And omg Rafe and I have the same fear (SNAKES!!!) and that part cracked me up.

And the last story MADE ME WANT TO CRY. I was srsly holding back tears the entire time. I have a pretty good feeling I know what happened to Gabi’s mom (and sometimes I want to be like PUT IT TOGETHER GABI… if I’m right) but Gabi has a dream about her mom and then deals with some pretty painful memories. Gabi makes Rafe put his muscles to work by getting all of the Christmas decorations out of the attic (while resisting the urge to throw him down on the floor and have her way with him! HAHAHAHA) and it was just a very sweet, touching story (with NO DEMONS… which was actually okay).

I love Melissa’s writing and her dialogue! It’s the best part. I love how sassy Gabi is and how everything makes Rafe blush. I love how annoyingly endearing Evan is. And i just really enjoy how happy these characters make me feel. I LOVE IT when a book makes me laugh.

Sam’s Review:

I am so sad with how long I have to wait for the second book in this series, but this collection did tide me over… until it was over. Then I was whining that I wanted more again.

It’s hard to read anything with favourite characters involved. You want to see their highs and their lows, and An Autumn Dream does just that. I LOVED “Sweet Treat” because I thought the whole romance between Rafe and Gabi was just so tender and sweet. This particular story has some absolutely hilarious moments, mostly coming in the form of Gabi’s snappy dialogue. This story reminded me once again that Rafe is totally the boy you could bring home to your parents and they would think he’s too good for you! I admit, I love a good Halloween-themed story, and I think Gabi behaved the way i would have throughout most of that story. Dances? Ew.
The second story, “Indiana Rafe” had me rolling on the floor laughing. It is CRACK. I loved the interactions between Rafe and Evan in the first book. It was also told from Rafe’s point of view which made me SO HAPPY. I admit, I am a Rafe fangirl, but int his particular story I could have passed for an Evan fangirl. They were just so funny, and awkward, and it’s funny to think Rafe has fears, but he does, because he is adorkable. Also this had one of my favourite scenes in a book ever: Gabi SHOVING groceries in a bag because Rafe and Evan are dicking around in her story, and then the amazing cut eye she gives them. It was perfectly timed and wonderfully comedic. That scene made me laugh so hard and it was worth the price of the collection for Gabi’s death stare alone!

And finally, “An Autumn Dream” which is by far the most emotional story of the bunch and it shows. I had all the feelings while reading this one, and it might be because of how much I love Gabi and he whole family dynamic. She loves her family, and she responds in a way where she can be cruel, but it’s because she wants to be the right person in a lot of situations. In this story, we see less of that Gabi and more of one who is grieving and struggling to put her emotions together. I loved the way this story ends, and I adored the genuiness in Gabi and Rafe’s relationship.

All in all, if you loved The Sight Seer, you’ll love An Autumn Dream too. It’s a quick read, and if you loved these characters, Melissa provides more insanity, wonderful dialogue and the right amount of emotion into each story. Definitely check it out!

One thought on “Book Review – An Autumn Dream by Melissa Giorgio

Leave a Reply

