ARC Review – Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi

blueTitle:  Into the Still Blue

Author: Veronica Rossi

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Their love and their leadership have been tested. Now it’s time for Perry and Aria to unite the Dwellers and the Outsiders in one last desperate attempt to bring balance to their world.

The race to the Still Blue has reached a stalemate. Aria and Perry are determined to find this last safe-haven from the Aether storms before Sable and Hess do-and they are just as determined to stay together.

 

 

Sam’s Review:

Huge thank you to Harper Teen and Edelweiss for an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I am throwing it out there – I didn’t like Under the Never Sky. At all. I was frustrated with our heroine, the world-building felt convoluted and at times confusing. Many of my girlfriends told me to stick with this series because the second book was such an improvement over the first (which it was!) and I’m glad I did.

I feel like Rossi has an amazing way with characters. I went from loathing Aria in the first book to adoring her in Into the Still Blue. It’s funny how much like people we meet, some have the power to grow on you in mysterious ways. I feel like Rossi still writes male characters better than females (I wanted to smack Brooke in book two at times, here not so much). I wanted to hug Perry and Roar ever five minutes because of how much crap the two of them put up with.

Everything about Into the Still Blue is stronger in my opinion. The writing is crisper and tighter, the characters have their most powerful and defining moments, and the conflict feels real. I didn’t have the same mixed and frustrated feelings I had prior — my feelings were more genuine, concerned, cautious. I honestly wasn’t sure what to expect with this finale but it surprised me in so many ways.

I am not going to spoil this series for anyone, but let’s just say Rossi does a solid job concluding this series. While I wasn’t fond on how one situation was handled, I feel like the ending wraps everything up well and it makes the reader feel okay with letting this world and its characters go. I’m sad its over because it means no more Perry, Cinder and Roar, but I feel like Rossi gave them their dues. I look forward to seeing what kind of world Rossi dreams up next — for now, I will deal with this book hang over by reading the novellas. Then be pouty some more.

Leave a Reply

