ARC Review – Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

18106318Title:  Cruel Beauty

Author: Rosamund Hodge

Rating: ★★★ 1/2

Synopsis: Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him…

Huge thank you to the publisher for letting me read an advanced copy of this. I’m writing an honest review to say thank you

River’s Review:

3.5 Stars.

I went into this with low expectations because a lot of the reviews were bad, but I rather enjoyed it. I DID get very bored about 50% into it and thankfully I pushed on through and then around 70% it picked up again.
The writing was beautiful, and the story was interesting. This is NOTHING like Graceling so I don’t know why that’s on the synopsis. It’s also not that ‘high fantasy’ either. It’s pretty light fantasy with some Greek elements.

Overall the story was good, but I’m not a huge fan of re-tellings or fairytales, so this was a bit out of my normal genre. I also was NOT a fan of the romance and the ‘love-triangle’. I also didn’t really like it when the ‘L’ word started flying around. And I felt that the whole marriage thing was a bit out of place for a YA book… I did like the characters a lot though! Nyx was sassy (tho I was confused at why she was so violent towards her husband… I was under the impression that she was supposed to woo him and kill him…) and the Gentle Lord (whatever his name was, I can’t be bothered to look it up right now, Ingenfixealdkjf something) was smarmy, but in a charming way.

I really liked how the curse worked out and the end was great.

So if you like fantasy or re-tellings then you’ll probably love this.

Sam’s Review:

Coming Soon.

Leave a Reply

