Christmas Book-Tube-A-Thon & Bookish New Years Resolutions

Hey everyone! I hope you are all doing well for the holidays. For those like River who are in Japan or other parts of the world: Merry Christmas! For Canadians and Americans, Happy Christmas’ Eve. I thought it’d be fun to take a break from the insane amount of reviews to share an update on Book-Tube-A-Thon and some of my Bookish New Years’s Resolutions.

First off, Book-Tube-A-Thon was a smash hit. They were running challenges from the 20th to the 22nd, and it ended at midnight. I ended up reading four books for the event:

  • The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate (5 stars)
  • Half-Blood Blues, by Esi Edugyan (4 stars)
  • Daughter of the Forest, by Juliette Marillier (4 stars)
  • Two Boys Kissing, by David Levithan (5 stars)

Overall, I had an amazing experience with the event. They were running book sprints, asking people to take pictures of favourite quotes, what they were reading, it was just such a great and relaxing event. You never felt pressured to read if you were tired. I’ll definitely be participating again sometime in the near future.

Bookish New Years Resolutions

BcQ63rzCYAA7nu7Meet “The Shelf of Shame” as my spouse calls it. He’s been teasing me for years about how I one day we’re going to live in a house overrun by books. We actually have over twelve book shelves in the house, but this one is specifically my pile of books that I have bought and have not read. This does not include the books my spouse and I share that I haven’t read (which is A LOT).

I want to work on a few bookish things for the new year, so here’s a few things that have been on my mind.

  • Read More, Spend Less: Although I read roughly 200 books a year, it’s funny how the Shelf of Shame doesn’t feel like it goes down. This is because I am the Queen of reading the new and shiny gems that end up in my hands. My goal is to try to buy less books and read what I have. Same goes with the Kindle backlog (which is bad as well).
  • Use the Library… even more: I love my local library. It has an amazing and very up to date selection of books. I’d love to even work at my local library if I could (finish library school first!). If there’s a series I am curious about or bought the first book and thought “eh that was okay,” I’ll just get the rest from the library and save my wallet a beating. Of course, I want to read more of what I own first, so we’ll see about how my dates at the library go. We may have to break up and make up a lot next year.
  • Donate/Purge: The reality is, I need to  stop keeping books I likely will never read, lean or save. I have tons of old books I need to donate, and if I read something my collection that makes me go “eh,” into the donation pile it goes so that way someone else can hopefully enjoy it. I donated over ten bags of books last year, hopefully I can donate a bit more.
  • Have At Least One Used Book Store Binge: Since my father passed away, I’ve made less trips downtown, so I haven’t done my annual “Used Bookstore Day” with some of my girlfriends. It pissed me off in fact, that I couldn’t get my act together to have that one day where I see how much I can get and for how cheap. In 2014, this is happening.
  • Go to Mable’s Fables and Re-Reading: Living in Toronto there are so many unique bookstores, and two I have my heart set on visiting are Mable’s Fables & Re; Reading. Hopefully I get to them at some point next year. 🙂
  • ARCs: I’m not going to lie, I love receiving ARCs. I feel like it’s Christmas when I get a physical one in the mail or Netgalley and Edelweiss tell me there’s new goodies for download. However, once I finish reading a lot of the physical ones, I never know what to do with them. So perhaps I shall host a few mystery box ARC giveaways throughout 2014? Yeah, I think you’d like that idea, readers. 😉 Also just more giveaways in general!
  • Practice Cataloguing More: As a library student, this is just something I’m going to have to practice more whether I like it or not. BANE OF MY EXISTENCE (except not really, I don’t mind it, there’s just lots to remember).
  • READ: 2013 has been probably the roughest year of my life. Well, that’s a lie, from 2011 to 2013 has been the toughest time in my life. Reading has helped me cope with a lot of the fears and anxieties I have faced and it’s my hobby that continues to always give me new worlds to explore and characters to all in love with. I hope to read at least another 200 books next year, but who knows where life will take me, eh?

And that’s it. Let me know in the comments what some of your reading resolutions are. I’d love to hear them. Also if you see any books in the Shelf of Shame picture that I should have read by now and haven’t, TELL ME. I’m always looking for suggestions on what to read that I already own. I hope everyone has a Happy Holiday and an Amazing New Year! 🙂

One thought on “Christmas Book-Tube-A-Thon & Bookish New Years Resolutions

  1. ventureadlaxre

    Reading resolutions, hrm. I made a post of 70ish books that I really need to get around to reading sooner rather than later, in addition to my previous post of the 36 books I’m eager for in 2014. I have no idea how to tackle them, though!
    My book judging goes well because I receive a box of books along with a report to fill in, a certain date to send it in by, and a president who requests them sharply when they’re late. If only that were possible with non-judging books! It drives me crazy because they’re all books I really, really want to try. Yet other things just keep getting in the way :\

    Happy holidays and happy reading 😀 ~Katharine/thiefofcamorr

    Reply

Leave a Reply

