Happy New Year from River

photo~*~ Happy New Year ~*~

Wow. I am SO glad that 2013 is over. It was probably one of the hardest years of my life. I’m actually not sure what to say other than a lot happened, not all of it good, BUT some major goals were met and if things play out like I hope they do, 2014 should be an awesome, life changing year. But I’ll keep that to myself for now and just hope that in a few months I will be making a super exciting update. 

2013 was the YEAR OF READING. As I’ve posted about in the past, I’ve been a huge reader all my life, but due to a lot of things I just wasn’t making it as much of a priority as I used to. And that’s really what reading is about… making it a priority in your life. If you don’t make time to read, then you probablyyyyyy aren’t going to do it. And this year I did. As much as it was a return to a hobby that I LOVE, it was also an escape from a lot of the shit that was 2013. 

Hilariously, in my first post of 2013 I made a list of the 62 books that I WAS.GOING.TO.READ. And I ended up reading 22 of them. Now, if you want to see the 135 books that I DID read, check out my goodreads challenge

2013 was The Year of ARCs. I discovered eARCs thanks to my lovely Sam, and after some months of struggling to figure out what publishers wanted from me, I finally managed to get pre-approved for some major publishers and I am now rolling in the ARCs. So much that I had to make a system for READING all of them. And thus my crazy ARC schedule was born. Basically, on goodreads, I have a shelf for each month. Then I tag the ARC with the month BEFORE it comes out (out in May? Tag it for April!) and then at the start of each month I read ALLLLLLLL the ARCs before going onto published books. So far it’s working REALLY well. 

So here are my ARCs for January. I’ve actually already read 3 on the list and DNFed 1. So here are the ones that I’m going to be cracking away at starting from tomorrow!

18837880 16718816 13574417 18053047 17797364 15726915

But right now I’m just re-reading The Raven Boys & The Dream Thieves because I’m on vacation and I’ll do what I want to and GANSEYYYYYYY. 

Happy New Year guys! I hope everyone is able to ring it in with someone they care about, and that 2014 (year of the horse) is kind to everyone (myself included!!!)

 

Leave a Reply

