Januaryyyyyyyy – River’s Wrap-up

photo (1)January hair cuttttttt!

Hey guys! I know I’m a few days behind, but I finally have the time (and energy!) to do my January wrap-up. It feels like January was SO long ago… and at the same time I can’t believe how quickly it went by! Maybe this is what getting old feels like. cries.

Sooooo first up…

BOOKS!

16068973Best book read in January! The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno. Publishes July 8th, 2014.

I managed to read SIXTEEN books in January. SIXTEEN GUYS. I feel very proud of this. I first read all of my ARCs for January (due out in February) and then read whatever I felt like. And I re-read The Dream Thieves and it was amazing. For a full list of the books that I read in January check them out here on my goodreads challenge.

TV

Breaking-Bad_Wallpaper-I watched ALLLLLLLLL of Breaking Bad in one month.

So I know everyone and their dog has watched Breaking Bad, and for some reason I just never really wanted to see it. Everyone was all IT’S SO GOOOOOOOD WATCH ITTTTTTT but I literally have a pile of TV shows from LAST SEASON that I haven’t even finished. I’m in the middle of over TEN shows! I even had to just give up on some because I don’t have enough time to watch that much TV. But my husband would NOT stop talking about this show’s brilliance, so during vacation I gave it a try and WAS HOOKED. I had no idea what to expect (husband never gave me any specifics), so all I knew was that this high school teacher gets diagnosed with cancer and starts to cook meth to make money for his family. THAT WAS IT. I had this image in my head of him just cooking in the RV and making some cash and slowly dying. I never imagined all of the insanity that would follow. AND THE DEVASTATION AND HEARTBREAK omfg. This show is GREAT guys. It’s not just about ~cooking meth~ and ~drugs~. It is SO. MUCH. MORE.

But I’m kindaaaaaa glad that I’m finished with it because I really need to catch up with things like The Originals, TVD, Arrow and White Collar…..

Music

NEW TAKING BACK SUNDAY OH. MY. FUCKING. GOD. I have no words. I am so happy I could CRY. You guys THIS BAND. THIS BAND. I just can’t even. I wish I could go to the USA and go see them. I am so old and can’t even mosh anymore without probably breaking a hip (okay I’m not THAT old) but jfc. This is so good and I a so happy and COME TO ME MARCH 18TH. I need this album.

I also made a SOUND CLOUD account! I have no friends (I made it to follow Maggie Stiefvater), so PLEASE ADD ME. I only have one playlist which is for my novel!

Writing

Yes I am writing again! Now that I’m done helping my husband with his grad school applications I have time to do whatever I want and I’m back to work on the novel I started last winter. The novel that might actually get finished (I’m the worst writer ever and never finish anything so that is why I have never even attempted to find an agent but THIS WILL BE THE ONE DAMNIT). I have a title, CHAPTERS WITH NAMES, an ending (this is always the part that is most difficult for me), over 31,000 words written, an outline (again, not something I usually do) and general motivation. Goal is to finish the first draft by the end of Feb and then edit! Good luck self!

Personal

As I said above, I got my hair cut. It used to be REALLY long…

photo (3)

and I am so happy to not keep finding my hair in my food…

I also got the most AMAZING present from husband…

puddingSOY MILK PUDDING!!!! If you don’t already know I’m kinda-sorta deathly allergic to milk & dairy products. Like, I can eat a piece of cheese and not die, or a slice of pizza, but any raw dairy (especially a big glass of milk) will send me to the hospital (it’s happened before!) so I have to avoid ice cream, pudding, cheese, yogurt and so on… it’s a pain in the butt here in Japan because nobody seems to understand that MILK IS IN A LOT OF STUFF. Husband is pretty good about asking if there’s raw milk in stuff (I’m okay with things that have cooked milk in them, whatever I’m allergic to seems to get cooked out), but I’m always super sad that I can’t have things like ice cream or pudding. So husband searched online and found soy milk whipping cream (which I have since purchased and whipped into the most delicious whip cream I’ve eaten since 2004 when my allergy first showed up) and THIS AMAZING SOY MILK PUDDING. It has soy milk whipped cream on the top too. I’ve been eating them very slowly and pray that he will gift more to me in the future (it’s super expensive to ship!).

Soooooo that was January!!! Looking forward to writing a ton more, reading lots, and catching up on my TV shows in February! I also hope to have some good news about this next coming year and my living situation soon too…

 

11 thoughts on “Januaryyyyyyyy – River’s Wrap-up

  1. Stephanie Karin

    Omggggg new TBS… I actually just bought tickets to the show yesterday. I GAVE IN. But seriously, when I went and saw them in 2011 it was one of the best concerts of my life; I felt like I was 18 all over again, and even though I had the same feeling as you, that I was way too old to mosh without dying, I ended up flinging myself into circle pits, fearless. The kids don’t mosh like we did, though; I was bruised, but it was weak 😉

    In other news, I love that you read 16 books in January and I’m all excited that I finished 6. Then again, I feel like for about two years I literally read nothing, and not until late last year did I really get it back and start plowing through my shelves. I blame this on getting older and losing any semblance of a social life, haha.

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      I wish I could go with you!!!!!! Ahhhh I will have to vicariously live through you instead.

      I’m glad that you’re reading more too! I remember how obsessed we were back in the day and how we always traded books and went to Borders. Last year was my big come back too. I literally have 3 people I know here and with us planning on moving I don’t really need to start up a social life just to leave it again so why not books.

      Reply
      1. Stephanie Karin

        I will mosh extra just for you, as long as my fragile 27 year old body allows me, haha. BUT I CAN’T WAIT. A lot of the band we used to listen to I still enjoy, but none of them get to me like these guys.

        Ahhhh I miss all our Borders trips. Who else was cool enough to visit someone 3 hours away just to spend hours in bookstores together and then go home and continue reading and burning 50000000 cds for each other. But yeah I hear you, having a real job means I basically never ever want to go out during the week, so it’s just work, gym, home…lots of extra reading time.

  2. Melissa Giorgio

    Taking Back Sunday!! I just checked and their New York shows are already sold out, no surprise there. I miss going to concerts. Remember when we used to call each other up DURING the concerts so the other person could hear the songs? And wasn’t there a time where you and Steph were at one concert (was it Taking Back Sunday?) and I was at another one at the same time and we were texting like crazy? Oh man, the memories!

    I can’t wait to read your WIP! 🙂

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      Oh man those were the days! Did you listen to their new song? What do you think?????

      I can’t wait for you to read it!!!! Ah I want to share it so badly.

      Reply
  3. Stephanie Karin

    Ahhhh Melissa, I remember that!!! We were such total nerds haha. I think that might have been TBS – when they toured with Saves the Day, I want to say??

    Gosh, Molly do you remember when we chatted with the singer from Moneen & he signed those posters for us – “why do Americans call it a bathroom – there’s no bath in there!?”

    Reply
  4. Amy McNulty

    Breaking Bad! I know, right? You hear what it’s about and you don’t think you’ll like it much, let alone be THAT addicted, and them ~boom~ It’s probably my fave show ever. XD

    Awesome job on the writing! You can do it!

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      It’s husband’s favorite show too. After he watched it he was in this huge TV watching slump and couldn’t find ANYTHING to compare. He eventually got hooked on Supernatural. But he still talks about how amazing BrBa is. I’m so glad that I watched it, despite the heart break!

      Thank you!!! I’m trying my best 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

