ARC Review – Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowski

20448958Title:  Don’t Even Think About It

Author: Sarah Mlynowski

 

Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: We weren’t always like this. We used to be average New York City high school sophomores. Until our homeroom went for flu shots. We were prepared for some side effects. Maybe a headache. Maybe a sore arm. We definitely didn’t expect to get telepathic powers. But suddenly we could hear what everyone was thinking. Our friends. Our parents. Our crushes. Now we all know that Tess is in love with her best friend, Teddy. That Mackenzie cheated on Cooper. That, um, Nurse Carmichael used to be a stripper.

Since we’ve kept our freakish skill a secret, we can sit next to the class brainiac and ace our tests. We can dump our boyfriends right before they dump us. We know what our friends really think of our jeans, our breath, our new bangs. We always know what’s coming. Some of us will thrive. Some of us will crack. None of us will ever be the same. So stop obsessing about your ex. We’re always listening.

River’s Review:

Huge thank you to the publisher for letting me read an advanced copy of this. I’m writing this honest review to say thank you

So I probably wouldn’t have picked this up if I hadn’t been pre-approved for it, but I’m glad that I read it. It was really fun! And such a fast read. I blew through half of this while I was stuck on the train for 2.5 hours the other morning.

Before reading this I had it in my head that only a few of the kids from the class that got the tainted vaccines ended up with telepathy, but I was wrong and it’s the ENTIRE CLASS (minus two students who aren’t there on flu vaccine day). Let me just say that I never get flu shots, so I miiiiight be missing out! Haha. But basically the entire class gets a flu shot at school and they end up with telepathic abilities.

I’m torn about the size of the cast. Part of me thinks that if only a few of the students had ended up with powers that the story would have a lot more depth. Instead we get some surface level issues for a handful of the students and we see how one girl goes from shy to confident, another popular girl falls hard when her secrets come out, our golden boy’s life falls apart, the smart girl uses her new abilities to advance herself, and the two side-kicks fall for each other. There are A BUNCH of other students and they just get side mentions (twins who finally gain their twin powers, a boy named Edward who wishes he was turning into a vampire, one kid who eats too much candy) these were funny, but just not really that important to the overall story.

Also, there really wasn’t a plot. They get the powers, they deal with them, and at the very end there’s some conflict and it’s resolved in a few seconds. The main story is just how they initially deal with the powers and how their lives change. It’s fun, but I found myself wondering what was actually going to HAPPEN around 70%.

I had A LOT of fun ‘listening’ to the thoughts of the non-telepaths. I loved how honest they were. I remember watching a movie once about a boy who suddenly gained telepathic powers and the thoughts he heard around him were SO DULL. These thoughts were funny! Parents thinking about their sex lives, narcissistic thoughts, evil thoughts… they were all there. A lot of them made me laugh.

So check this out if you like funny, quick reads that aren’t too deep or serious. This will make you think a bit and make you laugh!

Leave a Reply

