One – Before & After — Books I am dying for and scared of

Every month I know what I’m going to read. I have a not-so-elaborate system set up on my goodreads account that shows me what books I have scheduled to read each month. I know a lot of people use google calendar or even a good-old day planner to schedule in their ARC reads-&-reviews, but I tag my ARCs on goodreads. The way I do it is if a book is, let’s say, set to release in April, I tag it for March and then read it in March. I LOVE clicking on my goodreads shelves and seeing the books on the list with filled in stars, indicating that I’m making progress.

Every month I have a few books that I am DYING to read. It’s sometimes PAINFUL forcing myself to stick to the schedule (and sometimes I super fail at it coughFEBRUARYcough and just read whatever) but it’s worth it if I get the reviews done. (And I’m actually doing really well so far this month — see for yourself!) And on the flip side of that sometimes there are books on my list that I’m scared to read. Why do I add them to my list? Because I WANT to read them, it’s just that maybe somebody that I know really well (or my coblogger, usually my coblogger) didn’t like it or it got a lot of really awful reviews. But I still want to give it a shot.

So I thought that at the start of each month I’d choose two books that I’m going to read in the following month. I’ll pick one that I’m DYING to read and one that I’m scared to read. I’ll say why I feel that way about both and then at the END of the month I’ll post and report back… a Before & After kinda thing… so for now I’ll be cheating a little bit (because I’m already well into my March reads and I’ve already read one of my DYING TO READ books) but… here’s my first before post…

BEFORE

18106481

(If you’ve already seen my review on this… pretend you haven’t.)

Nearly Gone by Elle Cosimano. I am (was) DYING to read this book. Sam tried to get me an ARC from her publisher hook-up and sadly couldn’t so when this popped up on Netgally I was all CLICK GIMME NOW OMG PLEASE and was SO excited when I got a copy! So yay! Why am (was) I so excited to read this? IT SOUNDS SO SEXY. It sounds dark and gritty and Nearly sounds so smart and FRINGE and mystery and sexy bad boys and swoon. Yes. That is why I want (wanted) to read this book. It just sounds smart and sexy.

taking

(I am currently reading this book, so it’s a little less cheating)

The Taking by Kimberly Derting. I am so SCARED to read this book. I’ve read all of Derting’s other books and I have a lot of mixed feelings on them. I loved her first few Body Finder books but once the love triangle started I just let out a huge sigh and became really sad. The same thing happened with her Pledge series. I loved the first one and then it went downhill from there due to a love triangle and lack of my favorite character (Max). So I’m scared to read this book because while I do like Derting’s writing and (most) of her characters I’ve heard a lot of negative things about this… going to give it the college try and hope for the best…

And there we have it! One book that I am (was) DYING to read and one that I’m SCARED to read. These are my BEFORE thoughts on them and at the end of the month (next week) I’ll post my thought on them and if my excitement and fears were warranted.

So what about you guys? What books are you dying for or scared of? Lemme know!

6 thoughts on “One – Before & After — Books I am dying for and scared of

  1. The Moon is a Naked Banana

    I think the saddest feeling is when you are reading a book which you actually love. The knowledge that it will soon come to an end is far worse than the fear that an unknown book will be disappointing.
    It’s beautiful and torturous to savour chapter, each line, each word, knowing each is a precious experience that will never be repeated.

    Reply
    1. river Post author

      If it’s a book that I love that much, I just re-read it and enjoy a new experience with the same love. For me though, when I go into a book expecting to love it and then I come to hate it… that’s the feeling I hate.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: One — Before & AFTER | Cherry Blossoms & Maple Syrup

  3. Pingback: River’s March Wrap-up | Cherry Blossoms & Maple Syrup

  4. Pingback: Two – before & AFTER | Cherry Blossoms & Maple Syrup

  5. Pingback: Three – BEFORE & after | Cherry Blossoms & Maple Syrup

Leave a Reply

