Personal Post – Book Buying Ban

BcQ63rzCYAA7nu7It’s weird how the words “Book Buying Ban” has been flying around as of late. It seems like that rush of awesome Winter 2014 releases is still on the move, and I admit I’ve gone a bit crazier than I have meant to, having grabbed a lot of new books recently from Amazon, used book stores and the soon-to-be-lost, World’s Biggest Book Store.

But I’m freaking out: I own way too many books, and while I’m always reading, I feel like as of late I’ve been accumulating more than I can handle. It also doesn’t help that I’m acquiring review books and library books like a crazy cat lady. So, I need to combat this problem, I need all of you out there to try and keep me on the straight and narrow. I can’t take credit for this idea as I was completely inspired by The Little Book Owl and her video on bans. I think, like she said, sometimes you know when it’s time, no matter how hard it may be.

As of April 1 until May 31, I am going on a book and library ban. I have to find a way to combat this problem and this is the hardest way to do it, but it also might stop me from going a bit crazy considering I’m a full time student again (in Library Science, so I lie to myself a lot and say it’s research… it totally is research. Totally.) Every two weeks on the blog, I will update you all on my progress, and what I’ve decided to do is make a bit of a challenge for myself for those two months. The goal is to knock out at least fifteen books from my backlog that I own and are not review.

  • 5 Adult Books
  • 5 YA Books
  • 5 Middle Grade Books
  • 1 of these must come from the borrowed pile.

And then review books will be throw around here and there. In the two week report, I will update you on what I read, if I enjoyed it or not and all that good stuff. If it’s a book I can’t see myself loaning out or rereading, it’s going to library donation bin or to the Odette Centre for Cancer Research where they have those free book tables (that I may or may not peruse when I am there).

To my friends who I see on a regular basis, your challenge is to tell me NO when we are out when it comes to books. To those who read this blog, all I ask from you is your encouragement, recommendations, and support. In fact, if you want help, feel free to look at my to-read shelf on Goodreads and scream “OMGREADTHATONE” at me.

At this end of this ban, if I succeed (and if I don’t), I’ll be hosting a giveaway, where in I will giveaway some of my favourites I read during the ban. Obviously I don’t know which books those will be, but we will cross that bridge when we get there. It’s just getting terrible that I’m pushing 400 books unread books and seriously, I gotta stop.

How do you combat the problem of owning or buying too many books? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Personal Post – Book Buying Ban

  1. ventureadlaxre

    How do I combat it? I don’t 😀 I have crates of books in storage that I haven’t read, that I can’t seem to part with. I have no idea how many I even have, as they’ve been in storage before I started using goodreads. I have a scary amount of books to read on my kindle that I keep starting then getting distracted from, or I just get too weighed down with judging/reviewing work.

    I have a post on my blog of the books I’m trying to clear in 2014… and… I’m totally and utterly failing it so far. All I want to do is COLLECT books, it seems.

    That said, try Sebastian (Ephemera, #1) by Anne Bishop as I’ve had this one for years and haven’t yet read it either. And Shards of Honor (Vorkosigan Saga, #1) by Lois McMaster Bujold because SO MANY FRIENDS adore this series and I’ve had the first two (in one) to read for utterly ages also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

