River’s March Wrap-up

Best book in March

18114921

Loooooooooved Salvage! And as one of the books I was most looking forward to in 2014 I am SO happy that I did! Ah, check this one out guys, it’s amazing!

Despite traveling at the beginning of the month, and feeling like I was NEVER EVER going to finish ANYTHING I managed to read TWELVE BOOKS! I read ten ARCs and two of my own books. I’m sadly in the middle of two books right now so I wont have a nice round ‘finished’ amount of March, but I should at least get them finished tomorrow and technically it will still be March somewhere… hahaha.

Music

Guys. guys. GUYS. I cannot believe it CANNOT believe it that Taking Back Sunday came out with a new CD and IT IS GOOD. I was so scared that it would suck. It’s been forever for them and I am a HUGE fan and went to their shows ~back in the day~ and I listen to them when I’m depressed because I just feel so damn powerful for some reason when I do. TBS has gotten me through two of THE MOST difficult times in my life and I wouldn’t be who I am right now without this band. So when this song came out and I LIKED IT I was so excited. Then ‘Stood a Chance’ came out and while I like the song the video made me cringe so I got a bit worried and then the CD dropped and I listened to it like twice and wasn’t wowed or anything so. But then I put it on repeat while I was tromping through Tokyo on a rainy day a few weeks ago and THAT. WAS. IT. I was hooked and have been hooked and cannot stop listening to this CD. There’s such a sense of nostalgia that I feel like I’m 20 years old again and then it feels fresh enough that I can enjoy finding new things to love and just. wow. Words. I don’t have them.

 

Health

Before I go into this I want to start by saying that I don’t think I’m fat. In fact, I know I’m not. I’m the perfect weight for my height and body type. I’ve been overly thin, even underweight, my entire life. I am NOT saying that I am fat. Thus stated… I AM out of shape. Painfully so. The past year I was super busy with personal things. STRESSFUL things. I didn’t eat well, I didn’t exercise, didn’t sleep well and overall just wasn’t very healthy. Also, when I’m stressed, I don’t eat. SO now that I’m A LOT less stressed I’m eating normally. Maybe even more than normal. And I have gained some weight. I’m also still incredibly out of shape. So I’m trying to do something about that. I’m trying to make healthier, smarter (and cheaper) choices.

So I’ve started eating less crap and I’m working on improving my diet. I USED to just eat a piece of toast in the morning. Now I’m eating a bowl of oatmeal (with vanilla sugar) for breakfast. I used to go to the grocery store and buy a prepared lunch (Japanese obento) which not only costs over $5, but it’s also not that healthy. So I’ve started buying fruit and lunch meat and soups and I’m eating like an after school special but whatever. Ham and tomato sandwich. Mixed fruit. Tomato soup. Tasty, healthy and much cheaper. Plus this way I can eat BEFORE going to the grocery store, stressing myself out less and BUYING less.

For dinner since I usually eat at work I have to buy something from the grocery store (or convenience store). I know I could make my own food, but that is just too much effort (did I mention that I’m lazy?) But I’m trying to go for healthier items. No more chips, no more cookies, no more snacks. I’m eating prepared noodle meals, salads, and fruit-jelly cups. I’m spending so much less and WASTING so much less too. I always end up buying more than I can eat and since most of it expires at the end of the day (or will go bad in my work cubby if I choose to save it for later) so I just toss it. wtf self.

So that’s been something I’ve been working on since the beginning of the month, and I must say, I’m feeling a lot better. I’m still super out of shape, but my energy levels are much better, I’m sleeping a bit better, and I’m really proud of myself for sticking with it.

 

TV

Nothing too exciting this month. I started Starcrossed and it’s kinda lame so far. I’m almost scared that I’m getting too old for CW shows. GASP. I’m going to give it a shot though, I thought TVD was super lame at the start, but I came to love it. I also gave The 100 a shot and it was pretty good… I have NOT read the book and probably wont because it has like a million perspectives and that’s totally not my thing. I’m going to give that a few more episodes before deciding if it’s going to be something I keep up with. Other than that I’ve been loving The Originals and Arrow. Still not sure about TVD this season, which makes me sob.

 

New Blog Feature

Did you guys see my new feature? It’s called Before & AfterThe way it works is that at the beginning of every month I’m going to choose one book that I am DYING to read and one that I am SCARED to read. I’m going to write down why I can’t wait/ am afraid to read the books. This is the BEFORE. Then I’ll read them! And at the end of the month I’m going to update with the AFTER: how I felt about them, if they lived up to my expectations/disappointed me/blew my mind etc. I’ve already posted my BEFORE for March, so make sure to check out my AFTER post (following this one). And feel free to join me!

Secret news

IMG_4763

Have a picture for now… real announcement to come…

One thought on “River’s March Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

