ARC Review – Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

16081202Title:  Open Road Summer

Author: Emery Lord

Rating: ★★★ 1/2

Synopsis: After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind. . . and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own. Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about to kick off, offering a perfect opportunity for a girls-only summer of break-up ballads and healing hearts. But when Matt Finch joins the tour as its opening act, his boy-next-door charm proves difficult for Reagan to resist, despite her vow to live a drama-free existence. This summer, Reagan and Lilah will navigate the ups and downs of fame and friendship as they come to see that giving your heart to the right person is always a risk worth taking. A fresh new voice in contemporary romance, Emery Lord’s gorgeous writing hits all the right notes.

Huge thank you to Walker Children’s and Netgalley for this ARC!

River’s Review:

This book is cute, fluffy, full of feels and really really sweet. But Reagan was annoying and I didn’t like her and that really killed most of this book for me. I LOVED Dee. I really wish this book would have been WAY more about her. Any part with her was just the best. Matt was super nice too, but he didn’t swoon me as much as it seems he did everyone else.

But man. Reagan. She’s ~the bed girl~. And she WILL TELL YOU ALL ABOUT IT. And that is something that I hate. I dislike super self-aware people both IRL and in books. It just seems like you’re trying too hard to be something you aren’t. And this was my problem with Reagan. She’s labeled herself SO WELL and then goes around saying how she aims to be unpredictable and someone that can’t be categorized. But she’s ‘the bad girl with a criminal record that loves to drink, wears too few clothes, too high-heels, and too-dark make-up’. Sorry, but THIS IS A LABLE REAGAN. All of her self-aware ‘I am a bad girl with a lot of cleavage’ or ‘I need a cigarette’ or ‘my clothes are so tiny’ moments drove me crazy. I just wanted to say WE GET IT.

I also really didn’t like how she caused so much drama and was so self-centered. Dee puts up with a lot of Reagan’s stuff because Reagan is so broken and needs someone, but then Reagan gets super jealous and dramatic and Dee puts her in her place which made me so happy. I mean, I loved Dee and Reagan’s relationship (there were moments when I teared up with BFF feels), but man, Reagan needed a smack-down.

I also hated how Reagan was judging other girls who were JUST LIKE HERSELF. She was calling girls trampy and trashy and cheap and bitches but then turning around saying how it was unfair that she was labeled those things as well. Despite labeling herself AND those other girls.

So what did I like? I loved Dee and her music. The songs were SO GOOD. I could totally hear them in my head. I loved Matt and how he worked through his problems. I could relate to Corinne and her relationship with Matt. I could understand her motives and even though some of them were shitty, they were real. The whole tour around the USA was so fun to read about too.

Anyway, most everyone else loves this, so if you can get past Reagan then you might really love this too.

Leave a Reply

