River & Sam’s Fave Books of March

Well, March is over and April is upon us. Let’s just say, River and I had a busy month of reading, as shown by all the crazy amount of reviews we did. There’s lots of great books releasing soon, so as always, we are going to share our favourite of the month.

River’s Pick:

18114921Salvage by Alexandra Duncan

I admit I was on the fence about Salvage. It was one of River’s “Top Five to Read in 2014” but it sounded like the type of hard science fiction that I’m always leery about. I’m happy to report that she loved it, and it’s one I’m now going to have to bump up in my reading pile because when she described it to me, it dashed every sort of misconception I had. Plus, I trust River’s taste, so it should be an interesting read… when I get to it (she’ll scold me if I don’t get to it soon, but book buying baaaan!)

Sam’s Pick

18594377The Chapel Wars by Lindsey Leavitt

So I actually have two picks this month, but I’m only going to share one with you all because well… the pick is Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor. I was fortunate that a friend shared her ARC with me, and I don’t want to get this person into trouble, but she knows who she is and I owe her a million thanks. The book is amazing and if you are a fan of the series, the ending is well worth the wait.

Moving onto The Chapel Wars… I’m surprised at myself. I liked Going Vintage, but I didn’t love it like I had been hoping to during Contemporary Summer Fling last year. It was a cute story, but it had some flaws that I had a hard time over looking. The Chapel Wars is funny, quirky and crazy from page one. It has its sensitive moments, but Holly is just such a fantastic protagonist, and her flaws really are oddly the selling point of this story. Plus, how can one not love how darn cute that cover is? Seriously it’s cute. It doesn’t release until May, but if you love contemporary and are looking for a different kind of setting and a cute romance, this is one to put on your TBR.

And that’s it! What were your favourite reads from March? Please let us know in the comments!

One thought on “River & Sam’s Fave Books of March

Leave a Reply

