ARC Review – The Taking by Kimberly Derting

takingTitle:  The Taking

Author: Kimberly Derting

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: A flash of white light . . . and then . . . nothing.

When sixteen-year-old Kyra Agnew wakes up behind a Dumpster at the Gas ’n’ Sip, she has no memory of how she got there. With a terrible headache and a major case of déjà vu, she heads home only to discover that five years have passed . . . yet she hasn’t aged a day. 

Everything else about Kyra’s old life is different. Her parents are divorced, her boyfriend, Austin, is in college and dating her best friend, and her dad has changed from an uptight neat-freak to a drunken conspiracy theorist who blames her five-year disappearance on little green men. 

Huge thank you to Harper Teen and Edelweiss for this ARC!

River’s Review:

Wow. So to be honest I was really scared to read this book. I’d seen a lot of negative reviews and low ratings and I personally haven’t been the biggest fan of Derting’s latest works (esp. the ending to The Pledge series). Sooooo I went into this with trepidation and was BLOWN AWAY. The first half of this book is so fast-paced and engaging and I couldn’t stop reading.

The book starts with Kyra and her dad heading home after her softball game. They get into a fight, she gets out of the car, a flash of light and bam, she’s waking up behind a dumpster FIVE YEARS LATER only she hasn’t aged a bit. And she feels like she’s only lost a day. But she’s lost five. And in that time she was missed, mourned, and then her family and friends moved on. THIS SUCKS. And I could totally relate to her feelings when she returned. No, I haven’t lost time, but I have experienced returning to a familiar place only to find everything different, yet the same. When I first returned to the USA from my first year in Japan IT WAS HARD. Everyone was the same, yet SO different. People had kids, people had gotten married/divorced, friends that I once was super close to I couldn’t relate to at all. And yet everyone expected ME to just slid right into their lives. THEY had not changed in their eyes. So while a lot of the reviews I’ve seen are claiming that Kyra didn’t understand her family’s feelings, I think that the REVERSE is true. NOBODY seemed to understand that to Kyra, everything was crazy and it was going to take time for her to ADJUST. Her mom was just like ‘hi, here’s a huge info dump about my life and your new brother, let’s go shopping!’ and Kyra was like ‘wtf….’ and just nobody gave her any time to get her wits about her.

Well, Tyler did. And this is why I think they became SO close SO fast. Add in the fact that his older brother was her boyfriend, and it just makes sense that she would turn to him. He was the only normal-ish thing in this new life. Sure he wasn’t his brother, but he was close enough. And for Tyler, he’d already been in love with Kyra (in a cute little-kid-has-a-crush way), so their relationship worked for me. It made sense. I mean, towards the end it did get a bit too much for the amount of time that had passed, but it didn’t bother me THAT much.

The only thing that really did get to me was that Kyra didn’t seem to care AT ALL about what had happened to her. Which, okay, if I were her I’d probably spend my first few days back wtf-ing about all of the changes, but anytime anyone would try to talk to her about what had happened, she’d just be like ‘meh, idk’ and leave it at that. I was DYING to find out (part of why I flew through it so fast) and she was just so blah about it! And when her dad was floating his ideas about aliens and she was like OMG YOU’RE CRAZY. DUDE. You were missing FOR FIVE YEARS and you haven’t AGED A DAY. I just don’t get why she was so un-interested! So I was glad when Simon showed up and we started to get some answers. I STILL WANT MORE ANSWERS. Which I hope we get in the next book. Because AH. THAT ENDING.

2 thoughts on “ARC Review – The Taking by Kimberly Derting

Leave a Reply

