Book Ban Check-in #1

unnamed

You all may recall at the end of March I stated I was going on a book ban for two months, with a check in every two weeks. Well, here’s my first check in and I’ve read 4/15 books towards this challenge. A pretty good start don’t you think? My goal was to read 5 YA, 5 MG, and 5 Adult books, and I have 3 YA, 1 MG and 0 Adult books completed. Towards the end I’ll make a proper listing, but right now this is me taking a quick study break as I have a Cataloguing and Searching exam tomorrow, which is taking up all my time. I managed to sneak most of these in before exams started.

So let’s talk about the books. The first one I tackled was Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee, which I adored. It has it’s problems of being horrifically predictable, but the writing is gorgeous, the descriptions are vivid, and it definitely keeps you engaged, even if you can spot the plot twist instantly. 4 Stars on Goodreads.

Second, I tackled Seaward by Susan Cooper, which is a book that was recommended to me years ago and was surprisingly difficult to find. For such a short book, it has a very complex and compact narrative. There’s an excellent ebb and flow to the story that just whisks you away. The only downside to the book was I did want more for the characters, as I didn’t entirely feel as though they were memorable. Still, Cooper’s prose is fantastic, and that alone makes it worth the read. 4 Stars on Goodreads.

Third, I read Lament by Maggie Stiefvater. Not my favourite book by Maggie as I did have some problems with a few of the characters. Dee was a very hit and miss protagonist, but she’s one who I had a fair amount of sympathy for when she wasn’t being dumb about Luke )her love interest) wanting to kill her. Seriously, if someone wanted to kill me but was all “Ooo I’m in love with you!” I’d throw more than a hissy fit. The romance didn’t entirely work for me, but the rest of the story was really fun. The villainess in the story is AWESOME and I don’t want to spoil why I think she’s so damn awesome. Overall, I gave this book a 3.5 Stars on Goodreads.

Lastly, I finished a book I had started back at the beginning of March for a feature I’ve been working on (and still have not completed yet for RPGamer), which is For the Win by Cory Doctorow. I have an insanely love-hate relationship with this author, and once again I found myself loving the ideas presented within the text, but not loving how bloated and info-dumpy the book was to read on a whole. I don’t mind some info-dumping, but if a huge chunk of the book is info dumping and the characters are one-dimensional to just serve a function, I generally won’t enjoy the book, which is exactly what happened here. I can’t really recommend this book, it just takes too long to get going and when it’s good, it’s great, and when it’s bad, it’s really bad. I ended up giving the book 2 Stars on Goodreads.

Have I bought any books on the ban so far? Sadly, yes, I bought one, which was The Soul Healer by Melissa Giorgio. Do I regret doing that? No. Melissa is a dear friend of mine, and I wanted to support the release despite it falling in my book ban. Plus, I want more Rafe and Gabi in my life. Perhaps I will read it during this ban? Very likely! But now I need to really be good and try a bit harder to ensure that I don’t slip up again.

See you in two weeks! Who knows what books I’ll have pulled out of the backlog the next time we meet. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book Ban Check-in #1

Leave a Reply

