ARC Review – Sleep No More by Aprilynne Pike

18600124Title:  Sleep No More

Author: Aprilynne Pike

Rating: ★★★★ 1/2

Synopsis: Oracles see the future but are never supposed to interfere. Charlotte learned that the hard way. If she hadn’t tried to change one of her childhood visions, her father would still be alive. Since the accident, Charlotte has suppressed her visions to avoid making the same mistake. But when she receives a premonition of a classmate’s murder, she can no longer ignore her powerful gift.

Then Charlotte meets someone who not only knows her secret but who also has a way for her to stop the killer. He offers to teach her how to manipulate her visions to change the future. But doing so will put Charlotte in the path of the murderer.…

Huge thank you to HarperTeen and Edelweiss for this ARC!

River’s Review:

I’m not really sure how much I can say about this book without spoiling it (and I like to keep my reviews spoiler free). So I’ll just say that I read about 80% of this in ONE DAY and I couldn’t put it down! I was instantly drawn into the story, and I HAD to find out what was happening.

For me, I usually try to avoid stories that have any type of element of time travel or time manipulation. I often get too caught up in the ‘how’ of it and get too lost in what’s happening or start to think about the paradoxes and then lose interest or get frustrated. This book didn’t deal with time travel though and I was never lost in the manipulations of the future. It was all very clear-cut. Charlotte got visions of the future and then she could change them if she tried. Simple. There were a few other elements of her abilities that I wasn’t too sure about and I don’t think one of them was ever explained… so that bugged me a bit. But the rest of her abilities were well explained (even when she didn’t fully understand, it was still clear to the reader how things worked) and I really liked that.

I LOVED Charlotte and her family. I especially loved the dynamics between her, her mother and her aunt. I could so easily picture these three women living together, touched and bonded by a family tragedy (Charlotte’s father’s death). Charlotte’s mother doesn’t know that Charlotte and her aunt are oracles, and the relationship and secrets between Charlotte and her aunt added an even deeper element to the family dynamic.

This book ripped me up. I REALLY can’t say more without spoiling it, but man, I felt so betrayed when I found out what was really going on and my poor heart was stomped all over!!! And I loved it and hated it at the same time, hahaha!

This book is very emotionally charged, and if you read the author’s note at the end, you’ll see why. The writing is powerful, and it’s very, very dark. I loved this element of the book and there were times when I just felt like I had to pause and catch my breath because it was so overwhelming at times.

New or old fans of Pike will enjoy this. I actually haven’t read anything else of hers, so I’m not sure how it compares, but I’m very curious to read her other stuff now. SO glad I gave this a try!

Leave a Reply

