ARC Review – After the End, by Amy Plum

endTitle: After the End

Author: Amy Plum

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness. They’ve survived for the last thirty years by living off the land, being one with nature, and hiding from whoever else might still be out there.

At least, this is what Juneau has been told her entire life.

When Juneau returns from a hunting trip to discover that everyone in her clan has vanished, she sets off to find them. Leaving the boundaries of their land for the very first time, she learns something horrifying: There never was a war. Cities were never destroyed. The world is intact. Everything was a lie.

Huge thank you to HarperTeen and Edelweiss for this ARC!

River’s Review:

WHAT HOW IS THAT THE END HOW AM I GOING TO MAKE IT UNTIL THE NEXT ONE OMG.

Wow. So this book was good. Really good. I was skeptical at the start. Around 20% I had no idea what was happening and to be perfectly honest, Juneau seemed like she was doing WAY TOO WELL for herself. 

This book is told from two POVs, which actually worked really well for me. I LOVED both Juneau and Miles’ voices. God I loved Miles. The book starts with Juneau’s, and we’re in the middle of the forest, hunting and living off the land in a post-apocalyptic era, three decades after WWIII. Juneau and her clan are able to connect to the ‘yara’ (basically the spirit of the earth) and use it to do what appears to be magic. Then we flip to Miles’ POV and he’s working in the mail room for his dad’s pharmaceutical company… in the present day.

Juneau’s POV shows her going on a hunting trip and then hearing a helicopter and returning to her clan and finding everyone gone. Miles’ shows his father hunting for a girl who matches Juneau’s description. And Miles, who’s in his father’s bad graces, decides to go find Juneau to bring her back to his dad and get back on his good side. This starts the adventure that the two take for the rest of the book as Miles tries to help Juneau find her people and she tries to figure out wtf is going on… because there clearly WAS no WWIII and she’s been lied to her entire life… 

This was nothing like I expected. At first I was annoyed because I had no idea what was happening but then as the answers began to roll in and the story began to build my opinion changed and what started as a 3 star book moved up to a full blown five stars and holy crap when I turned to the last page I couldn’t believe that it was over. I read 70% of this book in one sitting because I was that engaged in it. I only stopped because I had to go to sleep and when I woke up I went right back to reading it. 

I loved Juneau and Miles’ relationship. The only quip I have is that Juneau seemed to have way too much knowledge. I know that she grew up reading an old Encyclopedia Britannica (which she refers to A LOT in the story as a way for understanding modern things), but I still felt that she should have had a bit more trouble figuring things out. She also spoke a little too modern sometimes. But when it was from Miles’ POV she seemed way more like a girl who’s been displaced from society. And when he spoke you could see the difference (especially when he’d make cultural references) so that was a little odd for me… 

I cannot wait to see where this goes. Highly recommend this to everyone, just push through the beginning because omfg does it ever get amazing!

One thought on “ARC Review – After the End, by Amy Plum

  1. Pingback: Two – before & AFTER | Cherry Blossoms & Maple Syrup

Leave a Reply

