Book Ban Check-in #2

unnamed

(Missing: For the Win by Cory Doctorow because my spouse stole it back!)

Welcome to another installment of my adventures in book ban-land. This week as you can see the pile only grew slightly, as within two weeks I only read three books from my TBR that were not ARCs. If you are curious about the previous check in you can read that here.

Tally stands at: 1 middle grade book / 5 young adult books / 1 adult book. Total books is currently: 7/15 (though obviously I’m going to try and read more!)

Interestingly, I’m close to finishing The Unbound by Victoria Schwab, which I am completely in love with. Victoria Schwab really has a way of taking readers away and just keeping them engaged, and I just, I need to know what happens, darn it. I’m also 50% into The Soul Healer by Melissa Giorgio, which I cannot count for my book ban because it was the one book I bought during the ban. I have not bought ANY OTHER BOOKS, which means I’m doing good. Also Soul Healer is made of perfection as well! (Evan, why you so naughty? WHY?)

Okay, so let’s get into the books I added:

Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway: This is a book I read with River, as I bought it for her as a birthday present. It’s one I got for five bucks at Chapters and it may have been the best five bucks I’ve spent in awhile. The story is hilarious, Benway’s choice of music brought me back to my high school years when River and I met, and all the bands we as a group were listening to. It reminded me of the years when we were burning CDs for each other, mailing letters, anime, the works. I was very nostalgic through the book, and it reminded me how talented Robin Benway is because she creates characters with distinctive voices, and they are often characters you never forget. Audrey made me laugh so much and she was great to be in the head space of. I ended up giving this book 4 Stars.

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S King: So I can say with confidence that I’m pretty close to having read all of King’s books that are currently out. This book was a Printz Honor Winner and was also the pick for the #WednesdayYA book club hosted by Misty @ The Book Rat and Liz of Consumed by Books. It was an awesome choice, and King is such a fabulous writer. Reading this book I completely understood why she won the Printz Honor, because Vera and Charlie as so memorable and the multiple perspectives used oddly worked well (though not perfectly). There’s a lot of dark humor in this book, and the mystery element is very intriguing. Vera’s decision to protect Charlie in a lot of ways is not normal, but it makes for interesting story telling. I also loved her dad, and I totally understood a lot of his motives, and now have crazy appreciation for flow charts. Loved this book and gave it 4 Stars as it still doesn’t beat Everybody Sees the Ants or Ask the Passengers for me.

Dawn’s Early Light by Pip Ballentine & Tee Morris: I am not going to say a lot of this book as it’s a third in a series, but my goodness, if you haven’t read Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences, you really should. Books and Braun are fantastic characters and they get into wacky steampunk adventures. This one features Telsa and Edison! Automatic 5 Stars! (No seriously, the book in hilarious, action-packed and very fun).

And there you have it for this second check-in. It’s a bit pathetic, but I am hoping to have more of my own books read. Should be interesting because May is a month of friends visiting, a family member’s wedding, and going to Disney World. Yeah, May is crazy, but I will do my best to try and sneak in a few more from my personal TBR. Providing ARCs and review games don’t destroy me as well.

Happy Monday and the next check-in will be in two weeks! 🙂

One thought on “Book Ban Check-in #2

Leave a Reply

