An Evening with Laini Taylor (Author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy)

lainifar

Last Tuesday evening, my sister, K  (@ A Dangerous Kind of Ordinary) had the chance to go to the Laini Taylor signing at Chapters Queensway, all the way in Etobicoke. What a fantastic event! There were so many fans lined up to hear Laini be interviewed by a representitive of Indigo Teen Blog. Many of us were of course heartbroken and sadden by the end of The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy (I myself, completely destroyed), so it was good to hear Taylor’s writing process, how she came up with these memorable characters, and how hard of a time she had letting go of this wonderful world she had crafted.

lainitalk

Laini Taylor also opened up about what had happened with the Dreamweaver series, and I admit that was an interesting story in terms of what happened to that poor series and how many publishing hands it went through (and let me tell you Silksinger is a pain to find, I have it but it took a lot of work on my part!). She also talked about her feelings on the upcoming movie based on Daughter of Smoke and Bone and she admitted that regardless of whether it’s a good movie or not, she’s thrilled with the idea that she is going to gain so many new potential readers. You could tell know enthusiastic the crowd was when it came time for Q&A, and I thanked her for the creation of Mik & Zuzana, my favourite characters from the series, and asked about the inspiration behind the enovella that features them, Seriously, they are the best and are so darn cute.

signedAnd then there was the signing. K surprised with me with a physical copy of Dreams of Gods and Monsters (with the promise that I loan it to her once she gets through the first two books). As you know we are currently on a Book Buying Ban, but nothing in this ban stated that we couldn’t buy books for each other (perhaps we should change that for the next ban). So I got that and my copy of Days of Blood and Starlight signed, as well as a few little gifts for some friends of mine.

samlainiLaini is so pretty and nice and I look so silly here. Fangirl? Maybe.

krissylainiMeanwhile, K knows how to take a picture. See how cute they are?

Laini Taylor is one of my all time favourite authors, so I’m grateful that I got to meet her in person and ask questions. It was a successful event (and one that couldn’t have happened for me without the patience and awesomeness of K). If you haven’t read her books, PLEASE DO. You’ll be in for such a treat with fantastic characters and creepy, dreamingly dark worlds. Plus her prose is brilliant and one day I hope I can write as well as she does. I sincerely hope she comes back to Toronto again soon.

One thought on “An Evening with Laini Taylor (Author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy)

  1. Nikki (@thepapersea)

    Isn’t she just lovely? I wish I could have attended one of her Q & A events. In all the interviews I’ve read of hers she’s had such thoughtful answers. I met her at a signing but it would have been nice to spend more time with her!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

