ARC Review – MILA 2.0: Renegade by Debra Driza

20633154Title:  MILA 2.0: Renegade

Author: Debra Driza

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Mila is back on the run—this time with potential boyfriend Hunter by her side. As they search for a man who might know more about her mysterious past, Mila must rely on her android abilities to protect them from the people who want her dead. But embracing her identity as a machine leads her to question the state of her humanity, as well as Hunter’s true intentions.

Huge thank you to Katherine Tegen Books and Edelweiss for this ARC!

River’s Review:

So last year when I read Mila 2.0 I was REALLY excited to read it. I’d won an ARC from goodreads AND my mom had read it and quite enjoyed it. Last spring I went to visit my family and picked up my book and read it during my spring vacation. I have a lot of REALLY good memories tied to the first Mila 2.0 book despite having found the book a bit boring. I mean, I liked it, but I wasn’t DYING for the next one. So when I finally convinced myself to pick this up I was pleasantly surprised.

Not only did I get a huge rush of nostalgia, I just liked it a lot more. The writing is really good, the pacing is very tight, the tension is high, and the story just flows. I was actually dreading the length because I wasn’t super looking forward to this but… it didn’t feel long AT ALL. I would blow through chunks of this and be really upset when I had to put it down. 

So thinking back I’m not even sure why I liked it so much though. I guess just in comparison to the first one it was just better. I found the biggest flaw of the first book to be that it was just really boring for a story about an android girl. This one wasn’t boring at all! And the love story in the first book fell really flat for me. I found Hunter to much more fleshed out in this one. And later on his actions made a lot more sense after a few big reveals. 

I really liked Mila in this book too. In the first one she was just so sullen and always just reacted to the things around her, but in this book she was so much stronger. She felt much more deeply and I loved how she was in charge. And she was starting to accept herself.

The ending though, man, I was heartbroken over what happened and so sad that Mila let herself get manipulated into doing what she did. The cliffhanger is also VERY strong and now I’m actually really excited for the next one!

Leave a Reply

