Bout of Books 10.0 Update & Book Ban Check-in #3

Hey everyone, it’s time for two kinds of check-in posts! Let’s start with…

BoB10-200x200Bout of Books 10.0 Readathon!

Progress:

Currently Reading: 

– The Chaos of Stars, by Kiersten White

Books Completed: 

– Take Me On by Katie McGarry (544 pages)

– The Blue-Haired Boy by Courtney C. Stevens (71 pages, eNovella)

– The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner (280 pages)

Total Pages Read: 895 pages.

Not a bad start to the readathon considering I had guests visiting from Scotland for the last ten days. I don’t know when I’ll be updating again (probably at the end of the readathon), but so far I’m having a lot of fun and I’m crazy proud of myself for knocking out a big chunker like “Take Me On.” I’m hoping to finish “The Chaos of Stars” soonish and also start “The Divided”by Elise Chapman (which releases at the end of the month along with “Take Me On”!). Hopefully, I enjoy it — I wasn’t as huge on the first book, but maybe the sequel will improve what I didn’t like.
But we’ll see how much I get done. I’ve also got a new review game on my plate for RPGamer.com so I need to make that a priority as well (and I’m a slow game reviewer to boot!)
Book Ban Update #3
BntQpn9IgAACbVp
(Still not featured but completed, For the Win by Cory Doctorow)
Newly added to this challenge: 
Cress by Marissa Meyer: This is my new favourite in the series. I’m not going to spoil anything from it, but just read it. READ IT. SO GOOD. FIVE STARS!
The Unbound by Victoria Schwab: I am so sad we aren’t seeing another book in this series. I took my time with this book and devoured it pretty slowly. I just get so into Scwab’s worlds and characters and I think I liked this book more than The Archived. FIVE STARS!
Summer Days, Starry Nights by Vikki VanSickle: A beautifully written middle grade that takes place in the 60s. I loved this book. I was so into the characters and Reenie’s story was so beautiful, heartbreaking and thrilling to read about. If you haven’t read any books by Vikki VanSickle, you should — she does a good job at giving you some warm and fuzzies. FIVE STARS.
The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner — It’s weird but I have so many people rave about this book and I thought it was… just all right. Pretty dull for a good chunk of the book and then all of a sudden the last fifty pages gets its mojo going and I found myself glued to the pages. I love fantasy, but I need more than just a slow burn sometimes to get me engaged. THREE STARS!
There will be an update for the end of Bout of Books 10.0 on Monday, but as for the book ban, well, I’m in Disney when it ends, so you won’t see an update for that until after I return home.
What are you all reading right now? Any new favourites as of late?
One thought on “Bout of Books 10.0 Update & Book Ban Check-in #3

  1. ventureadlaxre

    There could be another in the series after The Unbound! Schwab is willing to write one, it just needs the publisher to accept. And she seems busy for the next while with books lined up. But at least the author is willing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

