Five Books I Need to Get Off My Butt and Read

So River and I get a ton of ARCs that often take priority over our personal reading lists. This bugs me sometimes because I try to prioritize and it often never works because more goodies appear. I should never complain, and I am always eternally grateful that publishers love to hear from us. However, what about those awesome books I bought that have been neglected on the shelf? Well here’s five books that I clearly need to get off my butt and read because I am apparently missing out on some awesome.

13519398

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

So everyone and their grandmother has read this excerpt me and I hear this series is one of the best in young adult fantasy right now. Also female assassin rising from being imprisoned to fight in the stead of a prince? Count me in. Seriously, I haven’t met a single person who has told me this book isn’t awesome.

12578313

Golden by Jessi Kirby

I have read Moonglass and In Honor by Jessi Kirby, and this is one of River’s favourite books. I don’t know why I didn’t get to it last summer and I know I need to remedy this because it’s looks and sounds amazing, plus it’s a road trip story and I LOVE those. Especially when it’s the story where a character is reflecting and coming to terms and even growing. Very excited to tackle this one.

17233800Crash Into You by Katie McGarry

This is the only book by Katie McGarry I haven’t read yet, and this one happens to be River’s favourite in the series so far. It’s about Isaiah, which baffles me that I haven’t gotten to it because he is one of my favourites in this series (doesn’t quite beat Beth, but pretty close). Sometimes I want an intense romance novel to read, and Katie McGarry just knows how to get it all right and make it so easy for me to just turn the pages. If you like intense contemporary young adult novels, she’s really an author you should check out.

11544476When We Wake by Karen Healy

One of my darling friends, Katherine @ VENTUREADLAXRE spoils me rotten (and vise versa, I am just as bad), and this was one of the last goodies she sent to me. The premise of this book sounds crazy and amazing and I keep staring at it. I love what-if stories and considering Tegan dies and wakes up a hundred years into the future, that is the kind of story that just sounds creepy and fascinating at the same time (though truthfully, I just want to read all the books Katherine sends me. They always have unique premises).

21448330

Crudrat by Gail Carriger

“Crudrat” was the first thing I ever kickstarted, so I am delighted that I have both an ebook and an audiobook to enjoy for this. I feel like I should hook the audiobook up to my mp3 player and just go for a walk and listen to a chapter a day. I feel like that would be motivating! Any ways, Gail Carriger is one of my favourite authors — she knows how to make readers laugh and feel completely entertained. I love authors that don’t always make every thing heavy handed or forced, and humor is always a plus for me.

So there you have it! These are five books I have been wanting to read for like, ever, and just haven’t gotten to. I’d be curious to see what River comes up with if she were to make a list. 😛 So I want to know in the comments! What are some books you’ve had on your shelf forever and feel like you need to make the time for?

 

Leave a Reply

