ARC Review – The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

18802989Title:  The Murder Complex

Author: Lindsay Cummings

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Huge thank you to the publisher for letting me read an advanced copy of this. I’m writing this honest review to say thank you!

River’s Review:

Wow, so okay. I didn’t have high expectations for this book. The author followed me on twitter last year and I saw all of the crazy promoting she was doing and how everyone was going nuts for it and it wasn’t even out yet and thought ‘wow, that’s a lot of hype’. I also saw what a huge fan of all the other big-time (over-hyped) dystopians she is and thought… it would just be more of the same. And while this book does have elements from a lot of those other series (Divergent, Hunger Games, Delirium, even the movie Hanna) it didn’t bother me too much because it was just A GOOD BOOK.

I like dark bloody books and this was just that. I loved the movie Hanna and Meadow reminded me a lot of Hanna. Her looks, her relationship with her father, her training. But for some reason it didn’t bother me. Maybe because we were inside of Meadow’s head and in Hanna we don’t get to go inside her head. Also a lot of their motivations were different. I don’t know. I guess I can see how these crossovers might bother other people, but I was able to maybe see that it was a nod towards something awesome, and a different take on it.

This reads FAST. And the perspectives flip between Zephyr and Meadow. If you know me and my reading preferences, you know that I HATE multiple POV. But this worked SO well. I was able to keep up with who was who, I never got confused between the voices, and most of the chapters were really short so not only was it keeping the pace clipping along, but it was easy to get a lot of information from each character.

As for the world building and the society… it wasn’t bad, but sometimes there was a little too much going on and I’m not even sure that I’m 100% clear on what the Murder Complex is and what it’s goals were. I also would have liked to have learned A LOT more about Lark and what her goals were. And what the purpose of the Patients was. Like, I get that they were killing machines, but why was that her brilliant solution? I hope that more is explained in the novella and next book.

The only thing that didn’t work for me was the romance. I get that Zephyr was getting images of a girl that looked like Meadow and that he was kinda in love with the image of her and so that when he met Meadow that he transferred those feelings onto her… but her return feelings for him just seemed to come out of nowhere. Like, they were running around, fighting, killing and she falls in love with him? Hmmmm. I can see her falling FOR him, but there wasn’t really any time for romance and I just never felt that they had THAT kind of connection. I did like that she started to accept that it was okay for herself to have a partner and someone to work with, but… love?

Anyway, I FLEW through this and I loved it and I can’t wait to read more! If you like dystopians then check this out, you’ll LOVE IT!

Advertisements

One thought on “ARC Review – The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

  1. Faye M.

    I’m glad to see that you loved this book overall despite its flaws! I never got into it though because the romance kinda ruined it for me *cringe* the insta-love was just so weird. I can’t imagine falling in love with someone you never even met just because you saw her in your dreams! But other than that, I’m glad to hear the rest of the factors are okay. I’m pretty certain many will be explained later on, as it is how it is in Dystopians. Nice work, love! 🙂

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s