River — Hiatus

Lately I haven’t felt like blogging. Well, I haven’t felt like book blogging. I’ve felt like writing, but the effort of having to think of something clever to post, or interesting to write about just… isn’t in me. And finding images or book covers to go with the post… it’s just a lot of work that I don’t feel like doing. I feel a lot of pressure to be good at blogging sometimes and lately I just… haven’t. Sam is amazing and keeps things running and I cannot thank her enough. I feel like she is really owning things over here.

The thing is… I just want to read. I don’t want to always have to post a review that is worthy of being posted. I do put them up on goodreads and submit them for review because I want to keep my flow of ARCs coming. But sometimes I just can’t be bothered.

With my move back to the USA coming up in less than two months (I return to the land of the free on July 24th) I feel like I am constantly having a stroke. There is just SO much to do. Not only do I have to figure out how to leave Japan and go to the USA, I have to figure out how to live in the USA again after having been gone for seven years. With a husband who has never lived in the USA. With a husband who is going to be going to one of the most difficult graduate schools in the world. In a tiny apartment in a new city. Guys, I’ve never actually lived in a big city in the USA before. Isn’t it stupid? I’ve lived in freaking TOKYO, one of the biggest cities IN THE WORLD and I’m worried about living in Boston.

I am SO excited. You have no idea how excited I am. But I am also ready for this to all just be DONE. I want to be finished selling and throwing away my furniture. I want to be done packing, I want to be done flying. I want to be in Boston, I want my husband to be signed up for classes and have a schedule. I want to know where the grocery store is. I want to have a job and an income. I want to have my new eye doctor. I want to be settled and not have to move FOR THE NEXT FIVE YEARS.

So yes, I am reading. Yes I am reviewing. But I’m going off my ARC schedule. I’m taking a break from blogging. I need to just get these next 3-4 months out of the way and then I can get back to enjoying my life and doing the things that I want to do, not only the things that I need to do.

And with that I will hand things over to Sam. Please be kind to her as she takes over for me yet again. And I promise that when I see her next I will pummel her with hugs and hand the books over gently as to not harm her.

I will leave you with this, http://safeaslife.wordpress.com/, something I made. I might randomly update, or I might update a lot. I wanted to write on here about moving and Boston, but sometimes I feel like this blog has shifted so much into the book blogging world that maybe it’s no longer a place where I can just babble about random stuff. So here’s a personal blog, do with that what you will.

Leave a Reply

