River & Sam’s Fave Books of May

Another month has ended and a new one has begun again. River and I have been eyeing so many books for the month of June that we want to read, and we’ve talked about it a few times — we’re pretty sure our ARC schedule is going to go out the win this month what with all the fantastic books that have recently released or are coming soon (Can I have Ruin and Rising yet?). Let’s take a look back though at our favourite reads for May.

River’s Pick:

20388219

Pills and Starships by Lydia Millet

So, I half expected River to pick something like #scandal or Say What You Will and yet I feel like I shouldn’t be surprised by this choice. Pills and Starships has a synopsis that just sounds to crazy to be real in some cases, and I love that cover. It makes me think of the Fallout series (the video games that is) based on the premise alone, and that definitely makes me want to check it out. SO CRAZY.

Sam’s Pick:

13206828Cress by Marissa Meyer

I had an amazing reading month in May and I struggled to pick something because I handed out a few fives with Summer Days, Starry Nights and The Unbounded topping my list, but Cress wins for being an almost six hundred page novel that kept my interest the whole way through. I find when I read chunky books my focus isn’t always there, let’s face it, chunky books demand a lot of attention because there’s always so much going on, though it’s also the worst offender for hundreds of pages of nothing happening too. I loved Cress and the characters were just so wonderfully engaging (the new ones, I mean, the old ones are still awesome), and just, I love this world. I don’t want it to end, but next year  it’s going to.

So there you have it! What was your stand out read in May? Let us know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

