ARC Review – (Don’t You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn

18820442Title:  (Don’t You) Forget About Me

Author: Kate Karyus Quinn

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis: Welcome to Gardnerville. A place where no one gets sick. And no one ever dies. Except… There’s a price to pay for paradise. Every fourth year, the strange power that fuels the town exacts its payment by infecting teens with deadly urges. In a normal year in Gardnerville, teens might stop talking to their best friends. In a fourth year, they’d kill them. Four years ago, Skylar’s sister, Piper, was locked away after leading sixteen of her classmates to a watery grave. Since then, Skylar has lived in a numb haze, struggling to forget her past and dull the pain of losing her sister. But the secrets and memories Piper left behind keep taunting Skylar—whispering that the only way to get her sister back is to stop Gardnerville’s murderous cycle once and for all.

River’s Review (5 Stars)

Huge thank you to the publisher for letting me read an advanced copy of this. Writing this honest review to say thank you!

Sometimes I love a book and I don’t know why. This is one of those times. I liked Quinn’s debut novel a whole lot, but I didn’t love it like I loved this. As one of my most anticipated 2014 reads, I was SO pleased that this novel didn’t let me down.

But I’m not sure that I can pin down just what made me love this so much.

It might have been a combination of the present day sections and the flashbacks. I love when the time line is played around with in a story. I loved that parts of the story were told to the missing sister. I loved the sister relationship. And I loved how everyone just accepted how weird the town was. How children having powers and going crazy was just a part of life. And how the novel didn’t just TELL us about it, but rather wove the madness and strangeness in.

I loved how subtle Foote was. The very quite romance that was just another strand woven into this strange web. I liked how dark and weird it was. And I love love loved how beautiful the writing was.

The blurb for this book does not do it justice.

So just go into this with no expectations and enjoy the strange craziness.

 

Leave a Reply

